Main content

Latest Videos

Last Time We Met: Gold Coast

6:41pm  Apr 25, 2018

Don Pyke Presser April 24

2:54pm  Apr 24, 2018

This Sunday on The Crows Show

9:00am  Apr 24, 2018

Rising Star watch

Katrina Gill  February 13, 2016 7:30 AM

Jake Kelly is eligible for the AFL's 2016 Rising Star award

Jake Kelly is eligible for the AFL's 2016 Rising Star award

As Adelaide prepares to introduce some fresh faces in the NAB Challenge, takes a look at the young Crows who are eligible for the 2016 Rising Star award.

To be eligible for one of the weekly nominations, a player needs to be under the age of 21 at January 1 of that year and must not have played more than 10 games to the start of that season.

Defender Jake Kelly is the only Crow with AFL experience who’s eligible for the 2016 Rising Star. Kelly, who turned 21 in January this year, played the maximum possible 10 AFL games last season.

Second-year Crows Harrison Wigg, Harry Dear, Reilly O’Brien and Keenan Ramsey, and trade period recruit Dean Gore, 19, are all eligible. Draftees Wayne Milera and Tom Doedee also fit the requirements.

Promising pair Jake Lever and Riley Knight both meet the age criteria, but have played too many matches (Lever 12 and Knight 11) to be considered this year. Wingman Rory Atkins, who has played eight AFL games, and untried forward Mitch McGovern both turned 21 last year, making them ineligible.

Lever, 19, and livewire Charlie Cameron were the two Crows to receive nominations last season. Cameron received the honour in Round 13, while Lever got the nod for his performance against Gold Coast in Round 17. The 2015 Rising Star was won by emerging Melbourne forward Jesse Hogan.

All Australian defender Daniel Talia is the only Crow to win the overall award. Talia, 24, was crowned the Rising Star in 2012, while Brad Crouch finished runner-up in 2013; Andy Otten in 2009 and Brett Burton a decade earlier (1999). Other current Adelaide players to have received a nomination are Matt Crouch, Luke Brown, Rory Laird, Sam Shaw and Taylor Walker.

The Rising Star was instituted in 1993 to recognise and encourage talented young players in the AFL. In 2007, the Rising Star was named in memory of former AFL Commission Chairman Ron Evans and the winner receives the Ron Evans Medal.

2016 Rising Star, eligible Crows
Wayne Milera, 18, yet to debut
Harrison Wigg, 19, yet to debut
Dean Gore, 19, yet to debut
Harry Dear, 19, yet to debut
Tom Doedee, 18, yet to debut
Jake Kelly, 21, 10 AFL games
Reilly O’Brien, 20, yet to debut
Keenan Ramsey, 19, yet to debut