Main content

Latest Videos

Paul Seedsman Presser April 23

3:22pm  Apr 23, 2018

RAA Marks of the Week: R5 v Sydney

11:15am  Apr 23, 2018

RAA Plays of the Week: R5 v Sydney

11:14am  Apr 23, 2018

RAA Goals of the Week: R5 v Sydney

11:12am  Apr 23, 2018

Captains cool on Crows

March 17, 2016 10:42 AM

Taylor Walker

Taylor Walker

For the second straight year, the Crows will be out to defy the predictions of the AFL captains.

In the annual AFL Captain’s Survey, only four of the 18 club skippers backed Adelaide to make the eight. Last year, three captains correctly tipped the Crows, who finished sixth overall, to play finals.

The captains, who couldn’t vote for their own teams, unanimously picked 2015 Grand Finalists Hawthorn and West Coast, as well as Fremantle and Geelong to feature in September action. The Hawks (seven votes) and Eagles (five votes) were the favourites to play off in the decider.

Crows skipper Taylor Walker received two nominations for the 2016 Coleman Medal. Reigning Coleman Medallist Josh Kennedy was the overall favourite with seven votes.

One captain also nominated Adelaide’s first selection in last year’s National Draft, Wayne Milera Junior, to follow in teammate Daniel Talia’s footsteps and win the Rising Star award.

Former Crow Patrick Dangerfield is the captains’ favourite for the Brownlow Medal.

As per recent seasons, the club captains were confidentially polled on five key questions on the season ahead. The full voting was as follows:

Which seven other clubs do you think can make this year's top eight?

Fremantle (17), Geelong Cats (17), Hawthorn (17), West Coast (17), Sydney Swans (14), Port Adelaide (12), Richmond (7), North Melbourne (6), GWS Giants (6), Western Bulldogs (6), Adelaide Crows (4), Collingwood (3)

Which other club is most likely to reach the Grand Final?
(11 Captains picked eventual premier Hawthorn in 2015)

Hawthorn (7), West Coast (5), Fremantle (3), Geelong Cats (1), Richmond (1), Sydney Swans (1).

 Who do you think will win the 2016 Brownlow Medal?
(Four captains correctly nominated Nat Fyfe in 2015).

Patrick Dangerfield (Geelong Cats, four votes), Gary Ablett (Gold Coast Suns, three votes), Nat Fyfe (Fremantle, three votes), Dan Hannebery (Sydney Swans, three votes), Josh Kennedy (Sydney Swans, one vote), Tom Liberatore (Western Bulldogs, one vote), Dustin Martin (Richmond, one vote), Scott Pendlebury (Collingwood, one vote), Luke Shuey (West Coast, one vote).

Who do you think will win the 2016 Coleman Medal?
(One captain correctly nominated Josh Kennedy in 2015).

Josh Kennedy (West Coast, seven votes), Lance Franklin (Sydney Swans, four votes), Tom Hawkins (Geelong Cats, two votes), Taylor Walker (Adelaide Crows, two votes), Jeremy Cameron (GWS Giants, one vote), Charlie Dixon (Port Adelaide, one vote), Jack Riewoldt (Richmond, two votes).

 Who do you think will win the 2016 NAB AFL Rising Star?
(No captain correctly nominated Jesse Hogan in 2015).

Callum Mills (Sydney Swans, seven votes), Clayton Oliver (Melbourne, three votes), Darcy Moore (Collingwood, two votes), Jacob Weitering (Carlton, two votes), Callum Ah Chee (Gold Coast Suns, one vote), Wayne Milera (Adelaide Crows, one vote), Christian Petracca (Melbourne, one vote), Josh Schache (Brisbane Lions, one vote).