TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Latest Videos

Belinda & the Baby Boom

9:00am  Jun 18, 2018

Crows Acquire Bite

9:00am  Jun 18, 2018

Thomas Farms Junior Jam: Ava

5:00pm  Jun 17, 2018

AFL v Esports

5:00pm  Jun 17, 2018

SANFL: New blood named

Max Phillips  March 24, 2016 5:32 PM

Troy Menzel will play for Adelaide's SANFL team on Saturday afternoon

Troy Menzel will play for Adelaide's SANFL team on Saturday afternoon

Four new Crows will play their first official games for the Club in Saturday afternoon’s SANFL clash with reigning premiers West Adelaide.

Skilful forward Troy Menzel, Geelong recruit Dean Gore and Category B rookie Hugh Greenwood will all make their Crows debut in the Round One matchup, which kicks off at 2.10pm at City Mazda Stadium.

Jonathon Beech is also set to line up against his former teammates for the first time after winning a premiership with West Adelaide less than six months ago.

Another four players will return from pre-season injuries to play their maiden matches of the year.

Andy Otten and Ricky Henderson strengthen a formidable backline featuring Kyle Hartigan, Sam Shaw, Jake Kelly and new SANFL captain Luke Carey.

Riley Knight will resume from an ankle complaint on a wing, while fellow speedster Charlie Cameron is set to return after undergoing pre-season knee surgery.

Development player Scott Spriggs is also a chance to play his first official game in Crows colours. The former Glenelg midfielder has been named on an extended interchange that must be trimmed by three on game day.

Hartigan and midfield pair Jarryd Lyons and Cam Ellis-Yolmen have been named as emergencies for Adelaide’s AFL opener against North Melbourne at Etihad Stadium.

Round One will be contested under several new rules introduced by the SANFL this year.

Clubs will be limited to 60 rotations per game, excluding those made at quarter breaks. The AFL enforces an interchange cap of 90 rotations.

A change of possession will occur if the ball travels out of bounds directly from a disposal, regardless of whether it was on the full or not. Balls touched or fumbled over the line will not result in a free kick against the offending player.

SANFL umpires will also impose a stricter interpretation of the holding-the-ball law.

Crows ticketed members receive free entry to the clash at Richmond on presentation of their 2016 membership card. Audio coverage of the match will be available via the SANFL’s Mixlr channel.


sanfl is on Mixlr


Adelaide’s SANFL team is:

B: Andy Otten (22), Luke Carey (59), Jake Kelly (47)

HB: Ricky Henderson (45), Kyle Hartigan (15), Sam Shaw (34)

C: Harrison Wigg (35), Mitch Grigg (8), Riley Knight (3)

HF: Jonathon Beech (1), Harry Dear (38), Charlie Cameron (23)

F: Keenan Ramsey (46), Luke Lowden (40), Troy Menzel (32)

FOL: Reilly O’Brien (43),  Cam Ellis-Yolmen (28), Dean Gore (36)

INT: Hugh Greenwood (20), Brock Castree (58), Matthew Spencely (50)