Main content

Crows in Rising Star race

GOLD COAST, AUSTRALIA - MARCH 11: Wayne Milera of the Crows celebrates kicking a goal during the 2016 NAB Challenge match between the Gold Coast Suns and the Adelaide Crows at Metricon Stadium on March 11, 2016. (Photo by Matt Roberts/AFL Media)
Wayne Milera Junior is eligible for this year's AFL Rising Star award

Eleven Crows are eligible for the prestigious AFL Rising Star award this year.

To qualify for a weekly Rising Star nomination, a player must be under the age of 21 at January 1 of that year and have played no more than 10 AFL games to the start of that season.

Speedster Wayne Milera Junior is the only Crow with AFL experience eligible for this year’s award. The 19-year-old played eight games in his debut season last year.

Midfielders Dean Gore and Harrison Wigg and key forward Harry Dear are entering their third years in the AFL system but remain eligible for the Rising Star title.

Promising defender Tom Doedee, 19, also qualifies under the criteria as he targets an AFL debut in Season 2017.

All six of the Club’s draftees in Jordan Gallucci, Myles Poholke, Elliott Himmelberg, Matthew Signorello, Ben Davis and rookie Ben Jarman are also eligible.

Jake Lever, who received a Rising Star nomination in 2015, still fits the criteria as a 20-year-old but has played too many senior games (36) to be considered.

Dual All Australian defender Daniel Talia is the only Crow to win the Rising Star after claiming the award in 2012.

Brad Crouch was runner-up a year later in 2013, while teammate Andy Otten also earned second place in 2009. Former Crow and current Head of Football Brett Burton was runner-up to Adam Goodes in 1999.

Crows players were overlooked for Rising Star nominations last season. Sydney youngster Callum Mills won the award with 49 votes.

Talia, Otten, Lever, both Crouch brothers, Taylor Walker, Luke Brown, Rory Laird and Charlie Cameron are the current Crows who have earned Rising Star nominations.

All of Adelaide’s Rising Star nominees

Adelaide is top-three in the AFL for Rising Star nominations over the past five years with nine overall, behind only Greater Western Sydney (15 nominees) and 2016 premiers the Western Bulldogs (10)

The Rising Star was instituted in 1993 to recognise and encourage talented young players in the AFL. In 2007, the Rising Star was named in memory of former AFL Commission Chairman Ron Evans and the winner receives the Ron Evans Medal.


Player Age (years) AFL games
Dean Gore 20 0
Harry Dear 20 0
Harrison Wigg 20 0
Tom Doedee 19 0
Ben Davis 19 0
Wayne Milera Junior 19 8
Jordan Gallucci 18 0
Ben Jarman 18 0
Elliott Himmelberg 18 0
Myles Poholke 18 0
Matthew Signorello 18 0
The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs