Main content

Latest Videos

Bec Goddard Presser February 23

10:30am  Feb 23, 2018

Behind Crows Doors: Peter Caven

7:00pm  Feb 22, 2018

The Bun's Done: Bryce Gibbs

3:30pm  Feb 22, 2018

Sloane extends award lead

May 1, 2017 5:24 PM

AFL 2017 Round 06 - Adelaide v Richmond

ADELAIDE, AUSTRALIA - APRIL 30: (L-R) Rory Sloane and Taylor Walker of the Crows embrace during the round six AFL match between the Adelaide Crows and the Richmond Tigers at Adelaide Oval on April 30, 2017 in Adelaide, Australia. (Photo by Daniel Kalisz/Getty Images/AFL Media)

Rory Sloane has extended his lead in the AFL Coaches Association Champion Player of the Year award.

Sloane polled nine votes in Adelaide’s win over Richmond to improve his tally to 42.

The Crows vice-captain is now 11 votes clear of Geelong captain Joel Selwood and emerging Melbourne star Clayton Oliver, who are tied for second place with 31 votes.

Sloane, who has polled in five of the opening six rounds, amassed 30 possessions and kicked an equal-career high three goals at Adelaide Oval on Sunday night. He also applied eight tackles.

Sam Jacobs was judged the next-best player on the ground by coaches Don Pyke and Damien Hardwick.

The Crows ruckman gathered a personal best 26 disposals (at 80.8 per cent efficiency) and eight inside 50ms. He also took nine marks, including three contested, and kicked a goal to attract seven votes.

Onballer Matt Crouch and defender Rory Laird each received five votes.

Crouch, who also posted a new career-high, was the leading possession winner on the ground with 38. The left-footer won an equal-round high nine hard-ball gets as well as eight clearances.

Laird gathered 34 disposals at an elite 94.1 per cent efficiency. The damaging half-back also gained more metres (728) than any other player in the competition in Round Six.

Three-goal forward Tom Lynch, who also collected 22 possessions and nine marks, was awarded two votes. 

Skipper Taylor Walker earned one vote for his five-goal haul, while promising defender Jake Lever (one) completed the Crows sweep of the votes.

Only three players, Gold Coast champion Gary Ablett, Collingwood captain Scott Pendlebury and Port Adelaide goalkicker Charlie Dixon polled maximum (10) votes on the weekend. Ablett has moved to sixth spot on the overall leaderboard.

Adelaide v Richmond
9 – Rory Sloane (Adel)
7 – Sam Jacobs (Adel)
5 – Matt Crouch (Adel)
5 – Rory Laird (Adel)
2 – Tom Lynch (Adel)
1 – Jake Lever (Adel)
1 – Taylor Walker (Adel)

AFLCA Champion Player of the Year Leaderboard
42 – Rory Sloane (Adel)
31 – Clayton Oliver (Melb)
31 – Joel Selwood (Geel)
29 – Ollie Wines (Port)
29 – Elliot Yeo (WC)
26 – Gary Ablett (GCS)
25 – Dustin Martin (Rich)
23 – Zach Merrett (Ess)
22 – Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
22 – Luke Shuey (WC)

Crows Leaderboard
42 – Rory Sloane
20 – Rory Laird
19 – Taylor Walker
17 – Sam Jacobs
16 – Matt Crouch
11 – Eddie Betts
7 – Rory Atkins
7 – Richard Douglas
6 – Charlie Cameron
6 – Tom Lynch
4 – Jake Lever
3 – Brodie Smith
3 – Brad Crouch
2 – Kyle Hartigan
1 – Josh Jenkins