Main content

Latest Videos

Jordan Gallucci signs on

4:07pm  Jan 19, 2018

Rory Atkins signs on

4:06pm  Jan 19, 2018

Jordan Gallucci Highights

2:31pm  Jan 19, 2018

Rory Atkins Highlights

2:29pm  Jan 19, 2018

Coaches can't split Crouch bros

July 3, 2017 5:26 PM

AFL 2017 Round 15 - Carlton v Adelaide

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - JULY 01: Brodie Smith of the Crows celebrates a goal during the round 15 AFL match between the Carlton Blues and the Adelaide Crows at Melbourne Cricket Ground on July 1, 2017 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Michael Dodge/Getty Images/AFL Media)

Defender Brodie Smith was Adelaide’s highest vote-getter in the AFL Coaches Association Champion Player of the Year award in Round 15.

Smith, 25, received seven votes from coaches Don Pyke and Brendon Bolton at the MCG on Saturday.

The All Australian backman amassed an equal-game high 30 possessions, six marks and five inside 50ms. He gained more metres (614) than any other player on the ground and kicked a goal.

The coaches couldn’t split the Crouch brothers, who each earned four votes.

Brad gathered 30 possessions, six clearances, five inside 50ms and laid 10 tackles among a team-high 29 pressure acts. Matt won nine clearances from his 29 touches and kicked a crucial last-quarter goal.

Forward Josh Jenkins, who was influential late in Adelaide’s 12-point win, was the other Crow to feature in the voting (one). 

Jenkins laid a career-high 13 tackles and kicked three goals, including a match-defining goal from outside 50m in the dying stages.

Carlton onballer Bryce Gibbs was judged the best player on the ground.

 Gibbs collected 30 possessions, seven clearances, four inside 50ms and two goals, and laid a game-high 15 tackles in a brilliant display.

Blues defender Liam Jones, who finished with 19 disposals and nine marks, continued his impressive run of form to attract three votes. 

Ruckman Matthew Kreuzer (two) and strong-bodied midfielder Patrick Cripps (one) rounded out the voting.

Seven players earned maximum votes on the weekend. 

Richmond star Dustin Martin (73) and reigning Brownlow Medallist Patrick Dangerfield (72) polled perfect 10s to break away at the top of the leaderboard.

Sydney Swans midfielder Luke Parker, Gold Coast recruit Jarryd Lyons, Hawthorn ball magnet Tom Mitchell, Fremantle livewire Michael Walters and goalkicking onballer Dayne Zorko of the Brisbane Lions also polled top votes.

Vice-captain Rory Sloane remains the highest-ranked Crow in equal-fifth place on 53 votes.

 Adelaide v Carlton
8 – Bryce Gibbs (Carl)
7 – Brodie Smith (Adel)
4 – Brad Crouch (Adel)
4 – Matt Crouch (Adel)
3 – Liam Jones (Carl)
2 – Matthew Kreuzer (Carl)
1 – Patrick Cripps (Carl)
1 – Josh Jenkins (Adel)

Crows Leaderboard
53 – Rory Sloane
32 – Rory Laird
24 – Matt Crouch
19 – Taylor Walker
19 – Sam Jacobs
16 – Jake Lever
16 – Eddie Betts
14 – Brad Crouch
13 – Tom Lynch
12 – Charlie Cameron
12 – Richard Douglas
12 – Brodie Smith
9 – Rory Atkins
2 – Luke Brown
2 – Kyle Hartigan
2 – Josh Jenkins

Round 15 Leaderboard
73 – Dustin Martin (Rich)
72 – Patrick Dangerfield (Geel)
57 – Elliot Yeo (WC)
56 – Joel Selwood (Geel)
53 – Gary Ablett (GC)
53 – Rory Sloane (Adel)
48 – Zach Merrett (Ess)
48 – Scott Pendlebury (Coll)
48 – Sebastian Ross (StK)
48 – Dayne Zorko (Bris)