Main content

Latest Videos

The Bun's Done: Bryce Gibbs

3:30pm  Feb 22, 2018

Don Pyke Presser February 22

2:13pm  Feb 22, 2018

AFLW Last Time We Met: GWS

1:28pm  Feb 22, 2018

Ask the Coach: Don Pyke

10:50am  Feb 21, 2018

AFLW: Phillips ruled out  February 3, 2018 5:53 PM

AFLW 2017 Rd 05 - Adelaide v Brisbane

ADELAIDE, AUSTRALIA - MARCH 4: Erin Phillips of the Crows clashes with Brittany Gibson of the Lions during the 2017 AFLW Round 05 match between the Adelaide Crows and the Brisbane Lions at Norwood Oval on March 4, 2017 in Adelaide, Australia. (Photo by AFL Media)

Crows co-captain Erin Phillips has been ruled out of Saturday night’s AFLW Grand Final rematch against the Brisbane Lions.

Named in the team on Thursday, Phillips suffered a quad strain at training on Friday night.

Coach Bec Goddard said the reigning AFLW Best and Fairest winner and Club Champion would be assessed next week to determine her availability.

“We’re hoping it’s only a minor injury, but we’ll see how it settles down over the next few days,” Goddard said.

“We’ve managed Erin’s training loads throughout her first, full football pre-season and she was on track to play right up until last night.

“Obviously, it’s disappointing but it will be a good opportunity for other players to step up with Erin and another one of our leaders, Courtney Cramey, out of the side.”

Phillips has been replaced in the selected Crows team by Northern Territory midfielder Sophie Armitstead, who will play her second AFLW game.

“Sophie is a great story,” Goddard said.

“She injured her knee on debut against the Western Bulldogs last season, but has worked her way back and now gets a chance to play in a big game for our Club.”

Adelaide’s AFLW season-opener at Norwood Oval starts at 6:45pm (SA). Entry is free.

The match will be broadcast live on Channel 7 in selected states (check local guides), as well as on Fox Footy and the new AFL Women’s App.

The team is:
2. Eloise Jones (debut)
3. Ange Foley
4. Georgia Bevan
6. Talia Radan
8. Sally Riley
9. Deni Varnhagen
10. Ebony Marinoff
11. Rhiannon Metcalfe
14. Stevie-Lee Thompson
15. Ruth Wallace (debut)
16. Sophie Armitstead
17. Jess Sedunary
20. Jasmyn Hewett (debut)
23. Justine Mules
25. Jessica Allan (debut)
26. Chelsea Randall (captain)
28. Sarah Perkins
31. Dayna Cox
33. Anne Hatchard
39. Sarah Allan
45. Rheanne Lugg