Main content

Latest Videos

Ebony Marinoff Interview

7:00pm  Feb 20, 2018

Sam Jacobs Presser February 20

12:28pm  Feb 20, 2018

Riley Knight Injury Update

4:59pm  Feb 19, 2018

AFLW: Captain impresses coaches

Katrina Gill  February 6, 2018 11:21 AM

AFLW Highlights R1: Randall stands up Co-captain Chelsea Randall was a standout in the loss to Brisbane
AFLW 2018 Rd 01 - Adelaide v Brisbane

ADELAIDE, AUSTRALIA - FEBRUARY 3: Sharni Webb and Sabrina Frederick-Traub of the Lions fly with Talia Radan and Chelsea Randall of the Crows during the 2018 AFLW Round 01 match between the Adelaide Crows and the Brisbane Lions at Norwood Oval on February 3, 2018 in Adelaide, Australia. (Photo by AFL Media)

Chelsea Randall was the only Crow to poll votes from the coaches at Norwood Oval on Saturday night.

Randall received five votes from Bec Goddard and Craig Starcevich in Adelaide’s 12-point loss to the Brisbane Lions.

Acting as standalone skipper in the absence of Erin Phillips, co-captain Randall worked tirelessly for her team in the AFLW Grand Final rematch.

The 26-year-old topped Adelaide’s disposal tally with 18, to go with four marks and a goal.

Voted the Most Courageous Player by her peers last season, Randall continued to throw herself at the contest. She laid five tackles and supported her defenders in marking contests.

Randall also earned selection in AFL Media’s AFLW Team of the Week.

Dominant forward Sabrina Frederick-Traub earned a perfect 10 votes. Frederick-Traub was unstoppable in the air, taking a game-high 10 marks and collecting 14 disposals.

Western Bulldogs forward Ellie Blackburn was the only other player to collect maximum votes in the opening round of the AFLW season.

The leading possession winner at Norwood Oval, Lion Jamie Stanton was awarded seven votes. Defender Kate Lutkins (six), captain Emma Zielke (one) and Ally Anderson (one) rounded out the voting.

Adelaide v Brisbane Lions
10 – Sabrina Frederick-Traub (Brisbane Lions)
7 – Jamie Stanton (Brisbane Lions)
6 – Kate Lutkins (Brisbane Lions)
5 – Chelsea Randall (Adelaide Crows)
1 – Ally Anderson (Brisbane Lions)
1 – Emma Zielke (Brisbane Lions)

AFLW Champion Player of the Year Leaderboard
10 – Ellie Blackburn (Western Bulldogs)
10 – Sabrina Frederick-Traub (Brisbane Lions)
9 – Daisy Pearce (Melbourne)
8 – Katie Brennan (Western Bulldogs)
7 – Tayla Harris (Carlton)
7 – Chloe Molloy (Collingwood)
7 – Jamie Stanton (Brisbane Lions)
6 – Richelle Cranston (Melbourne)
6 – Emma Kearney (Western Bulldogs)
6 – Kate Lutkins (Brisbane Lions)
5 – Chelsea Randall (Adelaide)