The Adelaide Football Club can confirm the resignation of Board Director Nick Takos today.

Takos is not willing to be vaccinated against COVID-19 which puts him in breach of the Club’s vaccination policy, and he is unable to fulfil his obligations.

In the wake of the AFL releasing its COVID-19 vaccination requirements for men’s and women’s players and football staff, the Crows developed and implemented an internal policy for their administration.

It required Directors and staff, as well as contractors and volunteers, to receive their first vaccine dose by November 19, and be fully vaccinated by December 17.

Last month Adelaide Oval management also announced anyone wanting to enter the venue, which hosts all AFL games in South Australia, must be fully vaccinated.

Crows Chairman John Olsen said discussions had taken place with Takos over a number of weeks.

“We have a duty of care to all associated with the Club and therefore, we developed a COVID-19 vaccination policy to ensure there were appropriate health and safety requirements to protect our people and the wider community,” Olsen said.

“As a Director, you are obligated to attend meetings at the Club’s headquarters and Adelaide Oval, as well as games and other events where players, coaches, staff and corporate partners are in attendance, and Nick is no longer in a position to do so.”

The Board vacancy created by Takos’ resignation will be filled when the Club conducts its annual nomination and election process for Member-elected Directors early next year.

It means nominations will then be sought for two positions, with incumbent Director Rod Jameson also nearing the end of his current two-year term. Jameson has confirmed he will once again nominate for the Board.

Commercial lawyer Shanti Berggren, who ran second to Takos in this year’s Member election, became a Board-appointed Director in March.

Adelaide’s Board Directors are John Olsen (Chairman), Linda Fellows (Deputy Chair), Mark Ricciuto, Richard Fennell, Kate Ellis, Warren Randall, Rod Jameson, Stephen Roche and Shanti Berggren.