Main content

Matt Crouch wins Mark Bickley Award

2015 Club Champion: Emerging Talent Award Matt Crouch wins the Mark Bickley Emerging Talent Award for 2015.

Midfielder Crow Matt Crouch has won the Mark Bickley Emerging Talent award for 2015.

Crouch, 20, overcome an injury-interrupted pre-season to play 17 games, including two finals, in only his second year at the Club.

The left-footer impressed with his strong work around the contest, averaging 21 possessions, four clearances and three tackles. He collected a season and equal-career high 28 disposals in Adelaide’s Round 15 win over West Coast.

Matt joined older brother, Brad, at the Crows when he was selected with pick No.23 in the 2013 National Draft.

The Mark Bickley Emerging Talent award is an amalgamation of two awards from the Club's history, recognising the achievements of a first or second-year player under 21 both on and off the field.

Andrew McLeod won the first Emerging Talent award in 1995, while the Mark Bickley Award was introduced as a standalone honour in 2005 before the two awards were combined in 2014.

Emerging Talent and Mark Bickley award winners
1995 – 
Andrew McLeod (ET)
1996 – Peter Vardy (ET)
1997 – Kane Johnson (ET)
1998 – Andrew Eccles (ET)
1999 – Brett Burton (ET)
2000 – Tyson Stenglein (ET)
2001 – Chris Ladhams (ET)
2002 – Graham Johncock (ET)
2003 – Brent Reilly (ET)
2004 – Ben Rutten (ET)
2005 – Nathan van Berlo (ET), Chris Knights (MB)
2006 – Jason Porplyzia (ET), Nathan van Berlo (MB)
2007 – Jonathon Griffin (ET), Jason Porplyzia (MB)
2008 – Kurt Tippett (ET), David Mackay (MB)
2009 – Andy Otten (ET), Patrick Dangerfield (MB)
2010 – Rory Sloane (ET), Phil Davis (MB)
2011 – Matthew Jaensch (ET), Daniel Talia (MB)
2012 – Brodie Smith (ET), Sam Kerridge (MB)
2013 – Brad Crouch (ET), Luke Brown (MB)
2014 – Charlie Cameron
2015 – Matt Crouch

*’ET’ denotes ‘Emerging Talent’ award winner, while ‘MB’ denotes ‘Mark Bickley’ award winner