Main content

Go Figure: Pre-season comp

The Crows celebrate winning the 2012 NAB Cup
The Crows celebrate winning the 2012 NAB Cup

Recap Adelaide's statistical history in the AFL's pre-season competition

Two – The number of pre-season premierships in the Crows’ trophy cabinet. Adelaide’s first pre-season flag came under former coach Gary Ayres in 2003 when the Club defeated Collingwood by 31 points - 2.13.8 (104) to 1.9.10 (73) - in front of 43,571 fans at Docklands. The Club’s second pre-season triumph was under Brenton Sanderson against West Coast in 2012. The format of the competition was changed in 2014 to exclude finals.

Three – Crows players were awarded the Michael Tuck Medal as best on ground in the pre-season Grand Final. Andrew McLeod added to his trophy collection in 2003, while Simon Goodwin claimed the honour in a losing side in 2006. Bernie Vince was judged the best player in 2012. Brisbane Lions midfielder Daniel Rich was the last player to win a Michael Tuck Medal.

Six – The total number of pre-season Grand Finals the Crows have been involved in – against Essendon (1994), North Melbourne (1995), Geelong (2006) and St Kilda (2008).

Five– the name changes the AFL pre-season competition has undergone since Adelaide’s inception into the competition. The pre-season comp was previously sponsored by Fosters (1990-1994), Ansett Australia (1995-2001), Wizard Home Loans (2002-2005) and NAB (2006-2016). This is the first year the competition has been sponsored by insurance firm Jardine Lloyd Thompson for the JLT Community Series.

Six – Captain Taylor Walker has kicked six ‘supergoals’ from outside 50m in pre-season matches, ranked equal-second in the AFL all-time. Former Simon Goodwin is the next-best Crow with five nine-pointers. Ex-Essendon forward Scott Lucas has kicked the most supergoals with seven to his name.

13 – Crows are yet to play a pre-season game for the Club; Riley Knight, Curtly Hampton and Tom Doedee, draftees Jordan Gallucci, Elliott Himmelberg, Myles Poholke, Matthew Signorello and Ben Davis, and rookies Paul Hunter, Ben Jarman, Alex Keath, Jonathon Beech and Hugh Greenwood.

42 – Goals forward Eddie Betts has kicked in 26 pre-season games, the most of any current Crow.

65 – Pre-season goals kicked by Crows superstar forward Tony Modra, ranked sixth all-time. Hawthorn spearhead Jason Dunstall holds the pre-season/night series goalkicking record with 116 majors.

32 – Pre-season matches played by dual-premiership stars Tyson Edwards and Nigel Smart - ranked equal-18th in the AFL. Mark Bickley, Ben Hart and Andrew McLeod played 31. Of the current Crows, Scott Thompson (27) has the most pre-season appearances.

69 – Total number of official pre-season games the Crows have played for a record of 43 wins and 26 losses.

183 – The Crows’ highest-ever score in a pre-season game - 27.21 (183) against North Melbourne in 1993.

Five – The pre-season premier has gone on to win the AFL Premiership on five occasions since the competition was re-organised in 1988, Hawthorn (1988, 1991), Essendon (1993, 2000) and Geelong (2009). Carlton is the only club to finish last in the premiership season after winning the pre-season flag (2005).

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs