Main content

Four to resume in SANFL

Scott Thompson fires out a handball during Adelaide's Round Two SANFL clash with North Adelaide
Scott Thompson in action for the SANFL Crows

Four Crows are set to resume from injury in Saturday’s SANFL trial at Football Park.

Midfielder Scott Thompson and young defender Jake Lever will play their first game of the year in the clash with Woodville-West Torrens.

Thompson (shoulder) and Lever (hamstring) did not feature in the JLT Community Series and were unavailable for the Club’s opening SANFL trial a fortnight ago.

Crows State League Club Champion Jonathon Beech returns after overcoming a calf complaint sustained in Adelaide’s first JLT Series match against Richmond at Etihad Stadium.

Young onballer Dean Gore, who was concussed in the Club’s next pre-season match against Geelong, is also ready to return to action.

Category B rookies Hugh Greenwood and Alex Keath will compete together for the first time since being named Crows SANFL co-captains earlier this month. Greenwood played in two JLT Community Series games while Keath impressed in Adelaide’s SANFL trial against Sturt two weeks ago.

First-round draft pick Jordan Gallucci is set to make his first appearance at SANFL level.

Nine players from Adelaide’s SANFL development squad have also been named for the clash, including Victorian recruit Lachlan Murphy.

Backman Kyle Cheney experienced hamstring soreness at training on Thursday and was unavailable for selection. He will be further assessed in the coming days.

Midfielder Brad Crouch was also not considered for selection as he continues to close in on a return from a hamstring injury.

Players not required for Adelaide’s Round One AFL clash with Greater Western Sydney may be added to the SANFL squad on match day. The Club's AFL team will be finalised on at 4.30pm (SA time) on Friday afternoon.

Saturday’s trial begins at 11.25am at Football Park and is free to the public. Access to the ground is via the door at the southern end of the Club’s training facility near the players’ race.

Jonathon Beech
5. Scott Thompson
6. Jake Lever
7. Jordan Gallucci
10. Harrison Wigg
20. Hugh Greenwood
34. Elliott Himmelberg
35. Matthew Signorello
36. Dean Gore
37. Paul Hunter
38. Harry Dear
42. Alex Keath
45. Ben Jarman
48. Lachlan Murphy
51. Josh Wittwer
52. Blake Launer
53. Daniel Blythe
54. Braden Altus
58. Mitchell Minns
59. Brad Oates
61. Damon Hill
64. Sam Tharaldsen

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs