Main content

Wigg leads Magarey charge

Harrison Wigg - Harrison Wigg,Adelaide Crows
Harrison Wigg

Left-footer Harrison Wigg has finished as Adelaide’s top vote-getter at the 2017 Magarey Medal count on Tuesday night.

Wigg polled 11 votes, including three best-on-ground performances, to finish just shy of the top 10 on the overall leaderboard at the SANFL’s official ceremony at Adelaide Oval.

The Magarey Medal was won by Norwood onballer and former Crow Mitch Grigg who stormed clear with 23 votes ahead of Port Adelaide’s Brendon Ah Chee (19 votes) and Sturt midfielder James Battersby (16).

Full round-by-round voting

Wigg was the only Adelaide player to reach double figures after a slow start to the count by the Club.

Onballer Brad Crouch was the only Crow to poll through the opening four rounds. Crouch scored four votes in Adelaide’s first two wins of the year over Sturt (40 disposals, 10 tackles) and South Adelaide (31 disposals, 11 clearances) in his only SANFL outings of the season.

Wigg snared one vote in Adelaide’s heavy loss to minor premiers Woodville-West Torrens in Round Five and was adjudged best afield in Adelaide’s six-goal win over West Adelaide the following round.

Adelaide swept the votes in the Club’s dominant 74-point victory over North Adelaide in Round Seven with Riley Knight claiming three votes ahead of ruckman Reilly O’Brien and veteran Scott Thompson.

Wigg notched three votes in Adelaide’s last-gasp victory over Norwood in Round Nine and struck again with maximum votes in the Club’s four-point loss to South Adelaide in the final round.

Eye-catching wingman Paul Seedsman was Adelaide’s next best vote-getter with seven votes despite playing only seven SANFL matches. Seedsman attracted two votes in three games and was Adelaide’s only vote-getter in the Round 12 SANFL Showdown.


Fittingly, draftees Jordan Gallucci and Myles Poholke polled their maiden Magarey Medal votes in the same match against North Adelaide in Round 16.

Scott Thompson and Crouch, who only played two SANFL games this year, finished with four votes apiece.

Long-serving Crows administrator John Condon OAM was inducted into the South Australian Football Hall of Fame earlier in the evening as part of the ceremony.

2017 Magarey Medal top 10
23 – Mitch Grigg (Norwood)
19 – Brendon Ah Chee (Port Adelaide)
16 – James Battersby (Sturt)
14 – Matthew Panos (Norwood)
14 – Travis Schiller (Central District)
14 – Kaine Stevens (West Adelaide)
13 – Nick Holman (Central District)
12 – Nick Liddle (South Adelaide)
12 – Zane Kirkwood (Sturt)
12 – Aaron Young (Port Adelaide)

Crows Magarey Medal leaderboard
11 – Harrison Wigg
7 – Paul Seedsman
4 – Brad Crouch
4 – Scott Thompson
3 – Riley Knight
3 – Jordan Gallucci
3 – Jonathon Beech
2 – Reilly O’Brien
1 – Myles Poholke
1 – David Mackay

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs