Main content

JLT: Big names back

ADELAIDE, AUSTRALIA - MARCH 6: Rory Sloane of the Crows poses for a photograph during the Adelaide Crows 2018 official team photo day at AAMI Stadium on March 6, 2018 in Adelaide, Australia. (Photo by Michael Willson/AFL Media)
Rory Sloane will captain the Crows on Saturday

Adelaide has named a strong team for its last JLT Community Series game against Port Adelaide.

The Crows have included Rory Sloane, Eddie Betts, Daniel Talia, Richard Douglas, Hugh Greenwood and Kyle Hartigan in a team of 26 for Saturday’s pre-season ‘Showdown’ at Alberton Oval.

The experienced group didn’t line up against Fremantle in the opening round of the pre-season competition, but featured in last weekend’s intra-club with the exception of Talia, who was nursing an injured ankle.

Sloane will captain the side in the absence of Taylor Walker, who is recovering from a foot strain.

Walker, Brad Crouch (abdominal), Riley Knight (ankle) and Brodie Smith (knee) are the other regular best 22 players unavailable through injury.

Untried quartet Tom Doedee, Darcy Fogarty, Harry Dear and Lachlan Murphy will get another opportunity to impress leading into Round One of the AFL Premiership Season.

Missing from the team that beat the Dockers last month are defenders Kyle Cheney and Andy Otten, young midfielders Myles Poholke and Matt Signorello and talls Reilly O’Brien and Paul Hunter.

Cheney, Otten, Signorello and Hunter are the emergencies this weekend.

Club’s can select up to 26 players in the JLT Community Series, including eight on the interchange.

The majority of players not selected to take on the Power will participate in the Club’s SANFL trial against West Adelaide at City Mazda Stadium from 11:30am on Saturday. See the full SANFL squad list.

The JLT Community Series clash with Port Adelaide starts at 3:35pm (SA) with gates open at 2pm.

Crows members with game access will receive free entry to the match.

Members with game access can scan their membership card at the ground for free general admission (subject to limited capacity). In order to guarantee entry, members have the opportunity to upgrade to a reserved seat or register for a ticket online (subject to availability, upgrade fees may be applicable).

Tickets are available here

It will be Adelaide’s last hit-out before the Club’s season-opener against Essendon at Etihad Stadium on Friday, March 23. See the Crows’ 2018 fixture

IN (from JLT1):
Hugh Greenwood, Rory Sloane, Daniel Talia, Kyle Hartigan, Eddie Betts, Richard Douglas

Myles Poholke, Andy Otten, Kyle Cheney, Matthew Signorello, Paul Hunter, Reilly O’Brien

The team of 26 is:
1. Hugh Greenwood
4. Josh Jenkins
5. Matt Crouch
6. Bryce Gibbs
8. Jake Kelly
9. Rory Sloane
11. Paul Seedsman
12. Daniel Talia
14. David Mackay
15. Kyle Hartigan
16. Luke Brown
17. Curtly Hampton
18. Eddie Betts
20. Sam Gibson
21. Rory Atkins
24. Sam Jacobs
26. Richard Douglas
27. Tom Lynch
28. Cam Ellis-Yolmen
29. Rory Laird
32. Darcy Fogarty
38. Harry Dear
39. Tom Doedee
41. Mitch McGovern
42. Alex Keath
44. Lachlan Murphy