Main content

Club greats honoured

Hall of Fame: The inaugural inductees Recap the eight inaugural inductees into the Adelaide Football Club Hall of Fame

Adelaide has honoured eight of its greatest contributors of the first 25 seasons with induction into the Club’s inaugural Hall of Fame.

Two-time premiership coach Malcolm Blight, players Andrew McLeod, Simon Goodwin, Tony Modra, Ben Hart and Mark Ricciuto, and administrators Bob Hammond and Bill Sanders were tonight revealed as the first inductees at a black-tie event at the Adelaide Entertainment Centre.

The Hall of Fame selection committee deemed all had made a “profound” contribution to the Adelaide Football Club.

Crows chairman Rob Chapman said the event was the perfect time to reflect on the Club’s past triumphs and also heart-breaking moments,

“We have come such a long way since the early days when we were working out of ATCO huts at West Lakes,” he said.

“There have been many people who have had a profound influence on making this Club what it is today.”

The Hall of Fame selection panel was: Adrian Sutter (chairman), Bill Sanders, Bob Hammond, Rod Jameson, John Reid, John Condon and Andrew Fagan.

The five inducted players played in a total of 1,356 AFL games for the Crows and won 11 Club Champion awards.

Inaugural Hall of Fame inductees

Bill Sanders
The Club’s first general manager and CEO, then, later, served as Chairman. Read more

Bob Hammond
Adelaide’s inaugural chairman for its first decade in the AFL. Read more

Ben Hart
311 games. The youngest Crow and the first to play 300 AFL games for the Club. Two-time premiership player, two-time Club Champion, four-time All Australian. Read more

Tony Modra
Adelaide’s career goals record holder with 440 from 118 games. Five-time leading goalkicker, two-time All-Australian. Read more

Andrew McLeod
340 AFL games. Three-time Club Champion, two-time premiership player, two-time Norm Smith Medallist, five-time All Australian, Club games record-holder. Read more

Malcolm Blight
Premiership coach in 1997 and 1998. Read more

Simon Goodwin
275 AFL games. Three-time Club Champion, two-time premiership player, five-time All Australian. Captained the Club from 2008-2010. Read more

Mark Ricciuto
312 AFL games. One of the most decorated players of the modern era.  2003 Brownlow Medallist, three-time Club Champion, premiership player 1998, eight-time All Australian. Captained the Club 2001-2007. Read more

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs