Main content

SANFL finalises State squad

ADELAIDE, AUSTRALIA - JULY 25: Brodie Martin of the Crows during the 2015 AFL round 17 match between the Adelaide Crows and the Gold Coast Suns at Adelaide Oval, Adelaide, Australia on July 25, 2015. (Photo by AFL Media)
Brodie Martin is among several former Crows selected in the SANFL's final State squad

The SANFL has finalised the South Australian State squad ahead of the upcoming clash with Victoria at Adelaide Oval on Sunday.

Up to 17 players could make their State Game debut, including former Crows Lewis Johnston, Anthony Wilson, Brodie Martin, Aidan Riley, Luke Thompson and Jack Osborn.

The squad was narrowed down from an initial list of 41 players from all 10 SANFL clubs. Crows SANFL captain Luke Carey was among those initially selected, but the 26-year-old was overlooked in the final list released on Monday.

Reigning premiers West Adelaide and Adelaide are the only two clubs not represented in the final state squad.

Former Crow Stephen Rowe, inaugural Adelaide coach Graham Cornes, current Crows SANFL coach Heath Younie, Port Adelaide premiership player Kane Cornes, South Adelaide coach Brad Gotch and West Adelaide assistant Jack Horan make up this year's SANFL state coaching panel.

Former Adelaide and Gold Coast Physical Performance Manager and current Adelaide Redbacks advisor Stephen Schwerdt has also lended his expertise to the squad.

Cornes, Younie to coach SA

AFL-listed players were ineligible for State Team selection.

The team is still yet to name new captain to replace the retired Paul Thomas, who hung up the boots after a decorated SANFL career with Central District and moved into a development role with the Crows.

The squad trained inside Adelaide's high performance facility at West Lakes on Monday evening, and will train on Wednesday and Friday night at Adelaide Oval ahead of Sunday's big clash at the venue. Tickets are $14 for adults, $8 concession and children under 18 are free.


South Australia came from behind to down Victoria by 22 points in the previous meeting between SA and Victoria in 2014.


Travis Schiller (Central District)
Andrew Bradley (Glenelg)
Christian Howard (Glenelg)
Willie Rioli (Glenelg)
Mitch Clisby (North Adelaide)
Jordie McKenzie (North Adelaide)
Sam Baulderstone (Norwood)
Alex Georgiou (Norwood)
Lewis Johnston (Norwood)
Anthony Wilson (Norwood)
Steven Summerton (Port Adelaide)
Joel Cross (South Adelaide)
Brett Eddy (South Adelaide)
Cameron Hitchcock (South Adelaide)
Kory Beard (Sturt)
Fraser Evans (Sturt)
Zane Kirkwood (Sturt)
Brodie Martin (Sturt)
Jack Osborn (Sturt)
Aidan Riley (Sturt)
Jarred Allmond (Woodville-West Torrens)
James Boyd (Woodville-West Torrens)
Lachlan McGregor (Woodville-West Torrens)
Nick O'Brien (Woodville-West Torrens)
Luke Thompson (Woodville-West Torrens)

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs