TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Latest Videos

Welcome Tyson Stengle

12:20pm  Oct 16, 2018

2019 Rule Changes Revealed

2:28pm  Oct 11, 2018

McAdam's 2015 GOTY Contender

9:27am  Oct 11, 2018

Justin Reid Presser October 10

1:21pm  Oct 10, 2018

Players eligible for SANFL finals

Max Phillips  September 5, 2016 8:30 AM

Adelaide will play in its first SANFL finals series this year

Adelaide will play in its first SANFL finals series this year

Adelaide will be able to field a strong lineup in the Club’s first ever SANFL finals campaign, according to qualification rules set out by the League.

The SANFL Crows finished their home and away season in fourth position on the League ladder and defeated Central District in the Club’s first ever SANFL final.

Finals qualification rules for listed players at State League level only apply if/once Adelaide’s AFL team is eliminated from its own finals campaign.

Selectors’ only restriction in Week One of the SANFL finals series surrounded the 22 chosen for AFL duties the previous weekend. Players cannot feature at SANFL level if they played AFL the previous week and the senior team is not in action on the same weekend as the SANFL side.

For example, Ricky Henderson was called into Adelaide's AFL clash with West Coast in Round 23. He therefore was ineligible for SANFL selection for Adelaide’s first final against Central District during the AFL’s post-season bye. This rule originally excluded Cam Ellis-Yolmen from the SANFL Elimination Final, however the midfielder was granted an exception by the League.

If/once Adelaide falls out of the AFL finals race, SANFL qualification rules dictate players are only eligible for SANFL finals if they have played more SANFL matches than AFL games during the season, including three games after June 30. Development players are eligible if they have played one minor round game.

The Club can also apply for a permit for particular players in cases involving injury, suspensions or extenuating circumstances.

Qualification rules kick in immediately if/once the AFL team is eliminated from finals, meaning late changes may be required to Adelaide’s SANFL team if it plays after an AFL loss on the same weekend regardless of team selection earlier in the week.

Nineteen Crows listed players are currently qualified for SANFL finals under these rules.

Adelaide has also fielded 13 development players this season who are all eligible for finals selection.

SANFL Finals Qualification criteria for AFL-listed players
- Played more SANFL games than AFL games this season
- Played at least three SANFL games after June 30
- Club can apply for a permit in situations involving injury, suspension or extenuating circumstances

*Qualification rules only apply if/once AFL team is eliminated from finals

Crows listed players who have satisfied SANFL Finals Qualification criteria

PLAYER2016 SANFL GamesGames after June 30
Jonathon Beech 16 7
Mitch Grigg 18 8
Curtly Hampton 7 7
Hugh Greenwood 18 8
Cam Ellis-Yolmen 16 6
Harrison Wigg 16 7
Dean Gore 18 8
Paul Hunter 18 8
Harry Dear 18 8
Tom Doedee 17 8
Alex Keath 11 6
Reilly O'Brien 17 7
Keenan Ramsey 16 6
Jake Kelly 15 7
Andy Otten 13 5
Luke Lowden 13 3
Troy Menzel 13 4
Wayne Milera 10 8
Riley Knight 7 3
Nathan van Berlo 9 3

Crows development players who have satisfied SANFL Finals Qualification criteria

Luke Carey 13
Scott Spriggs 12
Trent Heffernan 10
Dylan Schoenmakers 10
Matthew Leigh 8
Matthew Spencely 3
Mitchell Minns 3
Brock Castree 3
Josh Wittwer 3
Wade Hancock 2
Matthew Johncock 2
Tyson Lindsay 1
Dylan Ribbons 1