TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Latest Videos

Belinda & the Baby Boom

9:00am  Jun 18, 2018

Crows Acquire Bite

9:00am  Jun 18, 2018

Thomas Farms Junior Jam: Ava

5:00pm  Jun 17, 2018

AFL v Esports

5:00pm  Jun 17, 2018

AFLW: Trio nominated for MVP award

March 21, 2017 1:12 PM

Chelsea Randall and Erin Phillips in action

Chelsea Randall and Erin Phillips in action

Crows trio Chelsea Randall, Erin Phillips and Courtney Cramey have been nominated by their peers for the inaugural AFLW Players’ Most Valuable Player award.

Phillips, 31, has emerged as one of the stars of the inaugural competition.

The two-time WNBA champion led the League for effective kicks (61) and contested possessions (91), ranked second in hard-ball gets (36), clearances (34), goal assists (four) and inside 50ms (26). She was also sixth in AFLW for disposals (132) through the home and away season.

Phillips kicked eight goals, fifth in AFLW, including two bags of three in the first and final rounds and match-winning majors against Carlton and Collingwood.

She’s also a finalist for the AFLW Goal and Mark of the Year.

Fellow Crows co-captain Chelsea Randall has led her side superbly with her unrivalled attack on the ball.

The versatile West Australian spent stints in the midfield and defence this season, ranking equal-fifth in AFLW for inside 50ms (21), seventh for marks (22) and tackles (38) and equal-10th for contested possessions (58).

Randall is also among the nominees for the AFLW Players’ Most Courageous award.

Phillips and Randall are automatically in the running to take out the AFLW Players’ Best Captain honour.

Cramey has been a steadying influence for the Crows in defence throughout the inaugural AFLW season.

She’s equal-sixth in AFLW for rebound 50ms (17) and led the Club for spoils (14) and smothers (7) for the home and away season.

Cramey has been a mentor to many of Adelaide’s younger players and is one of the most vocal leaders in the squad.

MVP candidates are nominated in a two-stage voting process. Players first nominate their teammates before selecting from a competition-wide field. Individuals cannot vote for a player from their own club in stage two of the process.

The player with the most votes is declared the AFLW Players’ MVP.

All AFLW Players’ awards will be announced at an intimate event in Melbourne on Monday 27th March.

It’s expected that an AFLW Players’ Best First Year Award will be included for the second season of the AFLW competition.

AFLW MVP instory 6201.jpg