TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Latest Videos

Belinda & the Baby Boom

9:00am  Jun 18, 2018

Crows Acquire Bite

9:00am  Jun 18, 2018

Thomas Farms Junior Jam: Ava

5:00pm  Jun 17, 2018

AFL v Esports

5:00pm  Jun 17, 2018

AFLW: Five in All Australian squad

Max Phillips  March 23, 2017 1:11 PM

Erin Phillips and Sarah Perkins are among five Crows named in the 2017 AFLW All Australian Squad

Erin Phillips and Sarah Perkins are among five Crows named in the 2017 AFLW All Australian Squad

Five Crows have been included in the inaugural AFL Women’s All-Australian squad.

Crows co-captains Erin Phillips and Chelsea Randall have been joined by young midfielder Ebony Marinoff, defender Courtney Cramey and forward Sarah Perkins in the 40-player squad.

Phillips, 31, has been one of the most influential players of the inaugural competition.

The Olympian finished the home and away season ranked No.1 for effective kicks (61) and contested possessions (91), was second in hard-ball gets (36), clearances (34), goal assists (four) and inside 50ms (26) and collected 132 disposals to be the sixth-biggest ball-winner in the League.

Phillips kicked eight goals, fifth in AFLW, including two bags of three in the first and final rounds and match-winning majors against Carlton and Collingwood.

She’s also a finalist for the AFLW Goal and Mark of the Year.

Fellow co-captain Chelsea Randall has led the way with her physical and courageous style.

The West Australian spent stints in the midfield and defence this season, ranking equal-fifth in AFLW for inside 50ms (21), seventh for marks (22) and tackles (38) and equal-10th for contested possessions (58).

Randall was also second at the Crows for rebound 50ms (11), and third at the Club for disposals (97) and clearances (11).

She’s been nominated by her peers for the AFLW Players’ Most Courageous award.

Cramey has been a calming influence for the Crows in defence throughout the inaugural AFLW season.

She was equal-sixth in AFLW for rebound 50ms (17) and led the Club for spoils (14) and smothers (7) through the home and away season.

Cramey has also been a mentor to many of Adelaide’s younger players and is one of the most vocal leaders in the squad.

Nineteen-year-old Crow Ebony Marinoff has provided a powerful presence in the midfield all season.

Adelaide’s first draft pick at the AFL Women’s Draft, Marinoff was the League’s top tackler with 70 for the season – a staggering 21 tackles ahead of the next-best player.

She ranked equal-third in AFLW for inside 50ms (25), fourth for effective kicks (45) and hard-ball gets (34), equal-sixth for contested possessions (62) and 10th for dispsoals (108). She’s also No.2 in AFLW for total pressure acts (112).

Marinoff is among the contenders to take out the inaugural AFL Women’s Rising Star award after earning a nomination in the opening round of the season.

Perkins has proven to be one of the most dangerous forwards in the competition.

The 23-year-old kicked 11 goals through the home and away season, including a season-best bag of four in the Round Seven win over Collingwood, to finish runner-up in the League’s goalkicking race.

Perkins also took eight contested marks (equal-fourth in AFLW), and led the Crows for score assists alongside teammate Phillips.

The Victorian has been just as effective without the footy, forcing the second-most turnovers of any player during the season (22) and laying 23 tackles – ranked second at the Club.

The undefeated Brisbane Lions contributed nine players in the AFLW All Australian Squad ahead of Melbourne, which had six representatives named.

Collingwood equalled Adelaide with five players included, while four players feature from Carlton, Fremantle and Greater Western Sydney. Three players from the Western Bulldogs were also nominated.

A final team of 22 will be announced at the W Awards in Melbourne on Tuesday, March 28 to recognise the standout players of the inaugural AFL Women’s Competition.

A host of other awards will also be presented including the AFL Women’s Best and Fairest, NAB AFL Women’s Rising Star, AFL Women’s Leading Goalkicker Award, Woolworths Mark of the Year and the Coates Hire Goal of the Year.

The 2017 Virgin Australia AFL Women’s All-Australian squad selection panel is Simon Lethlean, Josh Vanderloo, Jennie Loughnan, Kevin Sheehan, Grant Williams, Peta Searle, Darren Flanigan, Kelli Underwood, Ros Lanigan and Shelley Ware.


Erin Phillips
Chelsea Randall
Ebony Marinoff
Courtney Cramey
Sarah Perkins

Sabrina Frederick-Traub
Emily Bates
Kaitlyn Ashmore
Tayla Harris
Emma Zielke
Jess Wuetschner
Kate McCarthy
Leah Kaslar
Sam Virgo

Brianna Davey
Darcy Vescio
Alison Downie
Danielle Hardiman

Emma King
Nicola Stevens
Alicia Eva
Sarah D'Arcy
Jess Cameron

Kara Donnellan
Ebony Antonio
Kirby Bentley
Dana Hooker

GWS Giants
Jess Dal Pos
Erin McKinnon
Emma Swanson
Renee Tomkins

Karen Paxman
Elise O'Dea
Daisy Pearce
Mel Hickey
Lily Mithen
Jasmine Grierson

Western Bulldogs
Ellie Blackburn
Emma Kearney
Hannah Scott