TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Latest Videos

The Crows Show S04E11

12:30pm  Jun 17, 2018

FOOTYplus: Episode 5

9:00am  Jun 17, 2018

Don Pyke Post-Match: R13

11:20pm  Jun 16, 2018

Pyke - 'No easy way out'

10:49pm  Jun 16, 2018

AFLW: Phillips voted best afield

Max Phillips  March 25, 2017 5:13 PM

Erin Phillips led the way for Adelaide in Saturday's AFL Women's Grand Final

Erin Phillips led the way for Adelaide in Saturday's AFL Women's Grand Final

Adelaide’s Erin Phillips has claimed the first ever AFL Women’s Grand Final Best on Ground award after an extraordinary performance in Saturday’s decider against Brisbane.

Already one of the stars of the inaugural AFLW competition, Phillips elevated her game to another level at Metricon Stadium.

The 31-year-old collected a match-high 28 possessions (19 contested) had 11 inside 50ms and took four marks, including several spectacular contested grabs.

It was a complete performance by the Olympian, who also had a game-best seven tackles and an equal match-high six clearances.

AFLW Grand Final: Match Report

Phillips kicked two critical goals in the third term to help set up the historic six-point win over the Lions.

Her 28-possession performance was the most disposals recorded in a game by an AFLW Crow, and also marked her fourth consecutive match beyond 20 touches.

Phillips was adjudged best afield by three of the four panelists and was just one vote shy of a maximum tally of 12 votes.

Fellow co-captain Chelsea Randall was rated the next-best player on the ground with nine votes.

Randall nullified Brisbane marquee forward Tayla Harris and was inspirational across half-back for Adelaide.

The West Australian collected 16 possessions, including 12 contested, had four rebound 50ms and three inside 50ms.

Courtney Cramey was the remaining Crow to be recognised with one vote for her season-best 23-possession performance in the midfield.

The veteran overcame a concussion from last week’s clash with Collingwood to be an integral part of Adelaide’s premiership win, finishing with six clearances and a match-high five rebound 50ms.

11 - Erin Phillips (Adelaide)
9 - Chelsea Randall (Adelaide)
2 - Emily Bates (Brisbane)
1 - Leah Kaslar (Brisbane)
1 - Courtney Cramey (Adelaide)


Josh Van Derloo (Head of AFLW, Chairman)
3 - E Phillips
2 - C Randall
1 - E Bates

Ros Lanigan (Croc Media)
3 - C Randall
2 - E Phillips
1 - C Cramey

Andrew Hamilton (Courier Mail)
3 - E Phillips
2 - C Randall
1 - L Kaslar

Kelli Underwood (ABC Radio)
3 - E Phillips
2 - C Randall
1 - E Bates