Main content

Latest Videos

Bec Goddard Presser February 23

10:30am  Feb 23, 2018

Behind Crows Doors: Peter Caven

7:00pm  Feb 22, 2018

The Bun's Done: Bryce Gibbs

3:30pm  Feb 22, 2018

AFLW: Marinoff's a Rising Star

March 28, 2017 8:58 PM

AFLW 2017 Rd 05 - Adelaide v Brisbane

ADELAIDE, AUSTRALIA - MARCH 4: Ebony Marinoff of the Crows tackled by Jade Ransfield of the Lions during the 2017 AFLW Round 05 match between the Adelaide Crows and the Brisbane Lions at Norwood Oval on March 4, 2017 in Adelaide, Australia. (Photo by AFL Media)

Crows premiership midfielder Ebony Marinoff is the first-ever AFL Women’s Rising Star.

Marinoff won the award with 47 votes to edge out Brisbane Lions key-position player Sabrina Frederick-Traub (41 votes).

The 19-year-old was nominated in Round One following a near-best on ground performance in the Club’s history-making win over Greater Western Sydney.

The Rising Star capped off a stellar night at the W Awards for Marinoff, who was one of five Crows selected in the 2017 AFL Women’s All Australian team.

Adelaide’s first pick in the Women’s Draft, Marinoff excelled offensively and defensively this season.

She ranked top 10 in the AFLW for total disposals (10th), inside 50ms (third), effective kicks (fourth), hard-ball gets (fourth) and contested possessions (sixth).

The physical onballer led the competition for tackles with 70 from seven home and away games – a staggering 21 more than the next-best player. She was also No.2 for total pressure acts (112) in the minor round.

Marinoff was recruited from the Morphettville Park Football Club where she is a three-time premiership player. The left-footer has represented South Australia at youth and senior level, and played for Melbourne in the wildly successful women’s exhibition game last year. She was named an All Australian in 2016 after the AFL Women’s exhibition series.

The eligibility for the AFL Women’s Rising Star award is the same as in the men’s competition. Nominees must be under the age of 21 at January 1, 2017, and have played no more than 10 games. The overall winner must also not have been suspended during the season.

The only difference is that two players (rather than one) were nominated after each round.

A panel comprising the following names vote to award the eventual winner: Simon Lethlean, Mark Evans, Josh Vanderloo, Jennie Loughnan, Kevin Sheehan, Peta Searle, Darren Flanigan, Kelly Underwood, Ros Lanigan and Shelley Ware.