TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Latest Videos

Welcome Tyson Stengle

12:20pm  Oct 16, 2018

2019 Rule Changes Revealed

2:28pm  Oct 11, 2018

McAdam's 2015 GOTY Contender

9:27am  Oct 11, 2018

Justin Reid Presser October 10

1:21pm  Oct 10, 2018

AFLW: More history for Phillips

Katrina Gill  March 29, 2017 10:49 PM

AFLW Club Champion: Erin Phillips Erin Phillips is the inaugural Crows AFLW Club Champion
Erin Phillips

Erin Phillips

Erin Phillips has capped off a remarkable week by winning the Crows Women’s Club Champion in Darwin on Wednesday night.

Phillips, 31, swept the awards after dominating the inaugural AFL Women’s Competition.

The Club Champion honour came 24 hours after the premiership midfielder/forward claimed the AFL Women’s Best and Fairest, as well as All Australian selection and Goal of the Year at the W Awards in Melbourne.

On Saturday, Phillips was judged best on ground in Adelaide’s Grand Final win. She followed up by taking out the AFL Women’s Players’ Most Valuable Player on Monday.

Phillips won the Crows Club Champion award with 108 votes. Fellow co-captain Chelsea Randall was runner-up on 100 votes ahead of Rising Star Ebony Marinoff (92 votes).

Marinoff, 19, led the count after two rounds. Phillips hit the front after a match-winning performance against Carlton at Thebarton Oval in Round Three and stayed there.

Randall finished strongly, but couldn’t make up an eight-vote gap leading into the Grand Final.

See the round-by-round Club Champion voting

Speedster Jess Sedunary secured fourth place with 82 votes ahead of joint vice-captain Ange Foley and ruck Rhiannon Metcalfe, who tied for fifth on 81 votes.

Sedunary was one of only two players to receive maximum votes in a game. The half-forward earned a perfect 16 votes from the coaches in Adelaide’s win over the Western Bulldogs at Whitten Oval in Round Two. Defender Stevie-Lee Thompson also scored top votes against Fremantle in WA.

Randall was recognised by her peers for the second time this week, accepting the Players' Player Award.

Another All Australian, Courtney Cramey, won the Best Defensive Player, while influential forward Sarah Perkins was crowned the Leading Goalkicker.

The premiership-winning team was presented on stage at SKYCITY Darwin to a rousing applause.

The AFLW premiership cup also made the trip north for the event, which was held in the Northern Territory as part of the Club’s partnership with AFLNT.

The Crows Women’s Club Champion voting system is the same as the men’s. After every game, the four Crows coaches – Bec Goddard, Andrew Hodges, Mark Moody and Colleen Gwynne – each cast votes from 0 – 4 per player.

Leaderboard INSTORY 620.jpg