Main content

Latest Videos

Make your decision count

11:11am  Jan 17, 2018

Erin Phillips Presser January 16

10:00am  Jan 17, 2018

BHP Down to Earth: Jess Sedunary

9:00am  Jan 17, 2018

Matt Crouch signs on

3:30pm  Jan 11, 2018

Three Crows in AFL Team of the Week

Kieron Turner  April 11, 2017 10:37 AM

AFL 2017 Round 03 - Port Adelaide v Adelaide Crows

ADELAIDE, AUSTRALIA - APRIL 08: Rory Sloane of the Crows wins the Showdown Medal during the 2017 AFL round 03 match between Port Adelaide Power and the Adelaide Crows at the Adelaide Oval on April 08, 2017 in Adelaide, Australia. (Photo by AFL Media)

Adelaide has three players named in AFL’s Team of the Week for the third consecutive round after the Crows’ 17-point Showdown win over Port Adelaide.

Showdown Medallist Rory Sloane was named in the centre of the AFL’s Round Three team after amassing 31 disposals, including a career-high 24 contested possessions. Sloane received top votes in the AFL Coaches Association Player of the Year award for his best-on-ground performance against the Power, to go with eight clearances, nine tackles and a goal. 

Skipper Taylor Walker is the team’s spearhead at full forward after booting four goals in the second half on the weekend to lead his side to victory.

Unheralded defender Kyle Hartigan was also recognised by those who selected the Team of the Week after a stellar shutdown job on Power superstar Robbie Gray. The three-time John Cahill medallist is a genuine match-winner and was in ominous form after six goals and 30 disposals in round two, but Hartigan was able to quell his influence, keeping Gray to two goals whilst collecting 16 touches of his own.

The Gold Coast Suns had five players included in the Team of the Week on the back of their 86-point win over Hawthorn, with Collingwood, Richmond and Adelaide all having three players in the side. 

Click here to see the AFL Team of the Week for Round Three in full


R1 v GWS: Rory Laird, Rory Atkins, Charlie Cameron
R2 v Hawthorn: Daniel Talia, Sam Jacobs, Rory Sloane
R3 v Port Adelaide: Kyle Hartigan, Rory Sloane, Taylor Walker