TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Latest Videos

The Life of Wayne

9:30am  Sep 14, 2018

Marty Mattner: Fans Q&A

8:00pm  Sep 10, 2018

Every Showdown Medallist

August 1, 2017 11:11 AM

Rory Sloane won his first Showdown Medal in Round Three earlier this season

Rory Sloane won his first Showdown Medal in Round Three earlier this season

The Showdown Medal is presented to the player judged best afield in the Showdown.

Adelaide champion Mark Ricciuto, who won the first-ever medal in 2000, and former Power onballer Josh Francou hold the record for most Showdown Medals, having won three each.

Former Crows skipper Simon Goodwin claimed two during his decorated career, while ruckman Sam Jacobs is also a dual winner. The medal wasn’t presented in Showdown clashes between 1997 and 1999.

In Round 16 of 2015, the award was renamed the ‘Phillip Walsh Medal’ as a once-off tribute to the late Crows coach, who was also a long-serving and respected assistant coach at Port Adelaide. Adelaide's Scott Thompson earned the honour in the Crows' three-point win.

Courageous onballer Rory Sloane won his first Showdown Medal in the most recent contest between the Crows and Power in Round Three earlier this season. Sloane had 31 possessions, including 24 contested, eight clearances and kicked a goal to steer Adelaide to its fourth-straight Showdown victory.

2000, Round Seven, Mark Ricciuto (Adelaide)

2000, Round 22, Nick Stevens (Port Adelaide)
2001, Round Three, Josh Francou (Port Adelaide)
2001, Round 18, Josh Francou (Port Adelaide)
2002, Round Five, Jarrad Schofield (Port Adelaide)
2002, Round 20, Josh Francou (Port Adelaide)
2003, Round Five, Graham Johncock (Adelaide)
2003, Round 22, Peter Burgoyne (Port Adelaide)
2004, Round Seven, Mark Ricciuto (Adelaide)
2004, Round 22, Warren Tredrea (Port Adelaide)
2005, Round Three, Mark Ricciuto (Adelaide)
2005, Round 20, Simon Goodwin (Adelaide) and Shaun Burgoyne (Port Adelaide) joint winners
2006, Round Six, Tyson Edwards (Adelaide)
2006, Round 21, Chad Cornes (Port Adelaide)
2007, Round Three, Andrew McLeod (Adelaide)
2007, Round 18, Simon Goodwin (Adelaide)
2008, Round Three, Bernie Vince (Adelaide)

2008, Round 16, Danyle Pearce (Port Adelaide)
2009, Round Six, Dean Brogan (Port Adelaide)
2009, Round 17, Nathan Bock (Adelaide)
2010, Round Six, Robbie Gray (Port Adelaide)
2010, Round 17, Dom Cassisi (Port Adelaide)
2011, Round Four, Justin Westhoff (Port Adelaide)
2011, Round 19, Nathan van Berlo (Adelaide)
2012, Round Five, Patrick Dangerfield (Adelaide)
2012, Round 15, Sam Jacobs (Adelaide)
2013, Round Three, Travis Boak (Port Adelaide)
2013, Round 19, Chad Wingard (Port Adelaide)
2014, Round Two, Hamish Hartlett (Port Adelaide)
2014, Round 15, Sam Jacobs (Adelaide)
2015, Round Five, Robbie Gray (Port Adelaide)
2015, Round 16, Scott Thompson (Adelaide)*
2016, Round Two, Tom Lynch (Adelaide)
2016, Round 22, Matt Crouch (Adelaide)
2017, Round Three, Rory Sloane (Adelaide)

*Phillip Walsh Medal