TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Latest Videos

The Life of Wayne

9:30am  Sep 14, 2018

Marty Mattner: Fans Q&A

8:00pm  Sep 10, 2018

Betts earns third nomination

August 7, 2017 11:46 AM

Betts nominated for Goal of the Year Eddie Betts has done it again!

Reigning AFL Goal of the Year winner Eddie Betts has earned his third nomination for this year’s award.

The livewire forward, who has claimed the last two Goal of the Year titles, wowed fans in Sunday’s Showdown XLIII with an amazing finish from deep in the south-western pocket at Adelaide Oval.

Betts sharked a loose ball and kicked a brilliant goal along the ground in wet and windy conditions during the third term on Sunday evening.

Click here to vote for Eddie

It was one of three incredible Betts scores that could’ve earned nominations. A similar shot on his left boot from the north-western pocket was touched off his boot, while a classy checkside from his ‘traditional’ pocket was another highlight.

It’s the third time this season Betts has been nominated for the 2017 Goal of the Year title, with his previous nominations coming in Round Four and Round Nine.

Crows teammates Hugh Greenwood (Round 18) and Charlie Cameron (Round 10) are also in the running for this year’s award.

Greater Western Sydney’s Stephen Coniglio and Essendon’s Anthony McDonald-Tipungwuti are the other nominees for Round 20.

Voting opens 12pm each round the day after the last game, and closes the night before commencement of the next round.

The AFL’s All Australian Selection Committee will select the best three goals from a selection of the season’s weekly winners to be put to a public vote to determine the overall Goal of the Year winner.