TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Latest Videos

The Next Generation Kelly

6:00pm  Jul 22, 2018

Bill Sanders: The Club Song

6:00pm  Jul 22, 2018

Thomas Farms Junior Jam: Charlie

6:00pm  Jul 22, 2018

Tex eyes consecutive AFLPA titles

Max Phillips  September 1, 2017 4:14 PM

Crows captain Taylor Walker

Crows captain Taylor Walker

Taylor Walker could claim back-to-back titles when the AFL Players’ Association crowns its best captain of Season 2017.

A win would see Walker, 27, become only the fourth player to win consecutive AFLPA best captain awards after taking out last year’s title in just his second year as Crows skipper.

Mark Ricciuto, Adelaide’s only other winner of the award, was the last player to win back-to-back best captain honours in 2005 and 2006. Brisbane’s Michael Voss was the first player to achieve the feat by claiming four consecutive awards between 2001 and 2004.

Wayne Carey won two titles in a row in 1995 and 1998 when the award was only presented intermittently. It has been awarded annually since 1998.

All club captains are automatically nominated for the honour, which will be revealed at the AFL Players’ Association MVP Awards on Tuesday, September 12.

Sloane the courageous Crow

Crows draftee Jordan Gallucci is the Club’s nominee for the Association’s best first-year player award, which will be presented on the same evening.

Gallucci earned an AFL debut against Brisbane in Round Nine and kicked a goal from 11 disposals and two marks.

The 19-year-old has shown great promise with Adelaide’s SANFL team in his first season of senior football.

A Crow is yet to win the award since its inception in 1998. Three clubs have had multiple winners, with Fremantle and Sydney producing three recipients each.

Swan Callum Mills took out last year’s award.

The best captain and best first-year player awards are among several honours to be presented at the AFL Players’ Association MVP Awards on Tuesday, September 12.

The AFLPA will also present the Leigh Matthews Trophy for the AFL’s most valuable player and the Robert Rose Award for the most courageous player at the event.

Taylor Walker
Brisbane: Dayne Beams
Carlton: Marc Murphy
Collingwood: Scott Pendlebury
Essendon: Dyson Heppell
Fremantle: Nat Fyfe
Geelong: Joel Selwood
Gold Coast: Tom Lynch and Steven May
GWS Giants: Callan Ward and Phil Davis
Hawthorn: Jarryd Roughead
Melbourne: Nathan Jones and Jack Viney
North Melbourne: Jack Ziebell
Port Adelaide: Travis Boak
Richmond: Trent Cotchin
St Kilda: Jarryn Geary
Sydney: Josh Kennedy
West Coast: Shannon Hurn
Western Bulldogs: Robert Murphy

Jordan Gallucci
Brisbane: Alex Witherden
Carlton: Sam Petrevski-Seton
Collingwood: Callum Brown
Essendon: Andrew McGrath
Fremantle: Luke Ryan
Geelong: Tom Stewart
Gold Coast: Ben Ainsworth
GWS Giants: Tim Taranto
Hawthorn: James Cousins
Melbourne: Mitch Hannan
North Melbourne: Jy Simpkin
Port Adelaide: Sam Powell-Pepper
Richmond: Shai Bolton
St Kilda: Rowan Marshall
Sydney: Will Hayward
West Coast: Francis Watson
Western Bulldogs: Lewis Young