Main content

Duo recognised in SANFL squad

Scott Thompson and Harrison Wigg - Adelaide Crows,Harrison Wigg,Scott Thompson
Scott Thompson and Harrison Wigg

Two Crows have been recognised in the initial squad for the SANFL’s Team of the Year.

Veteran onballer Scott Thompson and long-kicking Crow Harrison Wigg were named in the 40-man squad which features the leading players in the competition.

Thompson made a massive impact at SANFL level this year despite missing four games.

He was third in the League for tackles (116) through the home and away season, fourth in contested possessions (214) and equal-fifth for clearances (100). Thompson was also top 10 in the SANFL for hard ball gets (76) and was among Adelaide’s leaders for disposals (ranked second at the SANFL Crows), handballs received (third) and score assists (fourth).

Third-year Crow Wigg was a consistent contributor in the midfield and off half-back.

Wigg, who missed three home and away SANFL matches, finished the season ranked third for inside 50ms (76) and equal-fourth for kicks (263). The 20-year-old had more possessions at SANFL level than any other Crow (380) and was also No.1 at the Club for effective kicks (161) and handballs received (150).

The 2017 SANFL Team of the Year squad features at least one player from all competing clubs.

Minor premiers Woodville-West Torrens and reigning champions Sturt dominated selection with eight players apiece.

Fellow finalists Norwood and Central District had five players picked ahead of Port Adelaide, which had four representatives, and Glenelg and South Adelaide with three players each.

West Adelaide and North Adelaide both had one representative feature.

Only AFL-listed players eligible for SANFL League finals could be considered for Team of the Year selection.

This year’s selection panel is the SANFL’s Adam Kelly, Tom Hurley and Zac Milbank, Channel 7’s Mark Soderstrom and The Advertiser’s Chief SANFL Writer Warren Partland.

The squad will be trimmed to a final team of 21 on Tuesday, September 19.

A coach, captain and vice-captain of the SANFL Team of the Year will also be named.


Scott Thompson, Harrison Wigg

Central District
Travis Schiller, Nick Holman, Darcy Fort, Justin Hoskin, Chris Jansen

Matt Snook, Terry Milera, Dom Barry

Sam Baulderstone, Matt Panos, Mitch Grigg, Kristian Roocke, Alex Georgiou

North Adelaide
Lewis Hender

Port Adelaide
Brett Eddy, Brendon Ah Chee, Steven Summerton, Jimmy Toumpas

South Adelaide
Matt Rose, Joel Cross, Nick Liddle

James Battersby, Pat Wilson, Aidan Riley, Zane Kirkwood, Kory Beard, Fraser Evans, Jack Stephens, Sam Colquhoun

West Adelaide
Kaine Stevens

Woodville-West Torrens
Jared Petrenko, Scott Lewis, Nick Hayes, Jake Johansen, Joe Sinor, Luke Thompson, Chris Hall, Paul Stewart

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs