Main content

Condon into Hall of Fame

Crows Life Member John Condon has been inducted into the South Australian Football Hall of Fame - Adelaide Crows
Crows Life Member John Condon has been inducted into the South Australian Football Hall of Fame

Long-serving Crows administrator John Condon OAM has been inducted into the South Australian Football Hall of Fame.

Condon was recognised for his outstanding contribution to the game spanning almost four decades. His service continues to this day.

Respected and revered in the South Australian sporting community, Condon was General Manager and League Director with the North Adelaide Football Club between 1979 and 1991 before joining the Crows in 1992.

Condon worked as the Club’s Football Manager for seven seasons, including Adelaide’s premiership years of 1997 and 1998, before retiring from the role.

He remained involved in football as a SANFL Salary Cap Investigator for almost two decades between 1998 and 2016.

A humble and popular figure at the Crows, Condon continues to play an important role behind the scenes.

He helped establish the Adelaide Football Club Past Players and Officials committee in 2005 and is a valued member of the Club’s Heritage and Hall of Fame selection committees. He’s also Adelaide’s current Club Historian.

Condon was honoured with an Order of Australia Medal (OAM) in 2009 for his outstanding service to the community through Australian Rules football and the Carbine Club of South Australia, where he served as Secretary for the club’s Adelaide branch.

He was presented with Adelaide Football Club Life Membership last year and is also a Life Member of the SANFL and the North Adelaide Football Club.


Condon was among four new inductees into the South Australian Football Hall of Fame at Adelaide Oval on Tuesday evening.

Condon joins a rich list of Crows identities in the Hall of Fame including Brownlow Medallist Mark Ricciuto, Coleman Medallist Tony Modra, Dual Norm Smith Medallist Andrew McLeod, premiership coach Malcolm Blight and inaugural Crows Chairman Bob Hammond.

The South Australian Football Hall of Fame was established in 2002 to recognise those who have made a significant contribution to the game of Australian Football. It now features 207 of the state’s greatest players, administrators, staff, umpires and media identities.

Inductees are selected by the South Australian Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee, which currently comprises Leigh Whicker AM (Chairman), John Halbert AM MBE, Neil Kerley AM, Chris McDermott, David Shipway AM, Michelangelo Rucci, Bill Sanders AM, Julian Burton OAM and Tim Pfeiffer.

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs