Main content

Latest Videos

Jordan Gallucci signs on

4:07pm  Jan 19, 2018

Rory Atkins signs on

4:06pm  Jan 19, 2018

Jordan Gallucci Highights

2:31pm  Jan 19, 2018

Rory Atkins Highlights

2:29pm  Jan 19, 2018

Phillips up for prestigious accolade

September 12, 2017 2:29 PM

AFLW 2017 Grand Final - Photographers Choice

Crows AFLW co-captain Erin Phillips has been nominated for another prestigious accolade

The Don award is incredibly special and I am looking forward to sharing the evening amongst some of the greatest athletes in the world.

Crows AFLW premiership winning co-captain Erin Phillips has been nominated for one of Australia’s most coveted sports awards.

Phillips is one of seven finalists in contention for this year’s ‘The Don’ award, which recognises an individual or team who has most inspired the nation through their performance.

Joining her is Adelaide-born swimmer Emily Seebohm, boxer Jeff Horn, surfer Tyler Wright, NRL star Jonathan Thurston, hurdler Sally Pearson and the Matildas soccer team.

Part of Sport Australia’s Hall of Fame presented on October 12 at the Crown Palladium in Melbourne, ‘The Don’ is named in memory of esteemed cricketer Sir Donald Bradman.

Phillips, who won the AFLW Best and Fairest and Crows Club Champion, has been nominated for her feats during the inaugural AFL Women’s season.

As well as taking out the highest individual honour at Club and League level, the 32-year-old was voted as the Players Association’s Most Valuable Player and won Goal of the Year.

She was selected in the first-ever women’s All-Australian team and was judged best afield in the Crows’ historic Grand Final win over the Brisbane Lions.

Also a celebrated international basketballer, Phillips announced her retirement from playing in the WNBA in May after nine years and two titles. The two-time Olympian has claimed a world championship gold medal and an Olympic silver medal with the Australian Opals.

Speaking from the US where she is now working with WNBA team the Dallas Wings as Director of Player and Franchise Development, Phillips said she was extremely proud to be nominated.  

"I am just so incredibly honoured to even have my name whispered amongst the other finalists for such a prestigious award in Australian sport,” Phillips said.

“The Don award is incredibly special and I am looking forward to sharing the evening amongst some of the greatest athletes in the world.”

Previous winners of ‘The Don’ include jockeys Michelle Payne and Damien Oliver, golfers Jason Day and Adam Scott, Cyclist Cadel Evans, cricketers Shane Warne, Mark Taylor and Glenn McGrath, swimmers Ian Thorpe and Grant Hackett and runner Cathy Freeman.