Main content

Crouch claims peer-voted award

Brad Crouch: Players' Trademark Award Brad Crouch has won the Players' Trademark Award

Young midfielder Brad Crouch is the inaugural winner of the Players’ Trademark Award.

Formerly the Chelsea Phillis Coaches’ Award, the Players’ Trademark Award is presented to the individual who best lived the playing group’s values throughout the season. It is voted for by the players.

Crouch, 23, worked hard to put injury concerns behind him in Season 2017.

The competitive onballer played a personal best 20 games, missing only one match with a fractured cheekbone from Round Five onwards.

Crouch improved each week, averaging a career-high 28 disposals (13 contested), seven tackles, six clearances and four inside 50ms. He also rediscovered his run and burst from stoppage, averaging 354 metres gained and kicking eight goals.

Crouch was one of Adelaide’s best-performed players across the finals series. He polled 11 votes to finish fourth in the Gary Ayres award for the League’s best finals performer as voted by the coaches.

The former Rising Star runner-up ranked second at Adelaide for tackles (137), third for clearances (119) and contested possessions (253) and fourth for total disposals (561).

Crouch notched up his 50th AFL game against Hawthorn in Round 14.

Chelsea Phillis Coaches Award/Players’ Trademark Award winners
1995 – Andrew Jarman
1996 – Mark Bickley
1997 – Mark Bickley
1998 – Simon Goodwin
1999 – Ben Hart
2000 – Mark Ricciuto
2001 – Mark Bickley
2002 – Tyson Stenglein
2003 – Robert Shirley
2004 – Mark Ricciuto
2005 – Robert Shirley
2006 – Matthew Bode
2007 – Robert Shirley
2008 – Richard Douglas
2009 – Jason Porplyzia
2010 – Richard Douglas
2011 – Scott Thompson
2012 – Rory Sloane
2013 – Andy Otten
2014 – Eddie Betts
2015 – Rory Sloane
2016 – Rory Sloane
2017 – Brad Crouch (Players’ Trademark)