Main content

Crouch earns fans' vote

Matt Crouch: 19th Man Award Matt Crouch has won the 19th Man Award, as voted by you.
Matt Crouch - Matt Crouch
Matt Crouch

Crows members have voted Matt Crouch as their Most Valuable Player for Season 2017.

Crouch claimed the 19th Man Award ahead of three-time winner Rory Sloane, 2015 recipient Rory Laird and ultra-consistent ruckman Sam Jacobs.

At just 22 years of age, Crouch established himself among the AFL’s elite.

He played every game and averaged a career-best 33 disposals, six clearances and five tackles.

He was selected alongside teammates Laird and Eddie Betts in the All Australian team.

In the Grand Final, Crouch broke the AFL record for most disposals in a season (825), surpassing Collingwood champion Dane Swan’s mark of 820 in 2010.

The left-footer collected a career-high 45 disposals against West Coast in Round 23, and amassed 30 or more possessions in 19 of his 25 games.

He ranked No.1 at Adelaide for contested possessions (336), hard-ball gets (145) and handball receives (391), and second for clearances (144) and effective disposals (593).

Crouch notched up his 50th AFL game in the Round Three win over Port Adelaide.

19th Man Award winners
1998 – 
Nigel Smart
1999 – Ben Hart
2000 – Mark Ricciuto
2001 – Andrew McLeod
2002 – Tyson Edwards
2003 – Mark Ricciuto
2004 – Tyson Edwards
2005 – Simon Goodwin
2006 – Tyson Edwards
2007 – Andrew McLeod
2008 – Nathan Bock
2009 – Bernie Vince
2010 – Graham Johncock
2011 – Scott Thompson
2012 – Patrick Dangerfield
2013 – Rory Sloane
2014 – Rory Sloane
2015 – Rory Laird
2016 – Rory Sloane
2017 – Matt Crouch

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs