Main content

Douglas named Best Team Man

Richard Douglas: Best Team Man Richard Douglas has taken out the Phil Walsh Best Team Man Award.

Respected Crow Richard Douglas has been named the Phil Walsh Best Team Man for the second time.

Douglas, who first claimed the honour in 2013, was recognised for his outstanding conduct on and off the field in his 12th season at the Club.

The versatile Crow played every game and was used in several roles throughout the season to suit the team’s needs.

The 2010 Club Champion excelled in the midfield, finishing third at the Club for kicks (317), fourth for contested possessions (239), hard-ball gets (65) and clearances (103), fifth for disposals (541) and sixth in tackles (96). He was also second at the Crows for pressure acts (541) and equal-sixth in the League for smothers (21).

The 30-year-old continued to make an impact up forward and booted 15 goals for the year, including a career-best four against Geelong in Round 18. Douglas was also fourth at the Club for inside 50ms (90) and goal assists (17).

Douglas led by example on the training track and is a fitting mentor to many of his younger teammates.

He’s an exemplary clubman and a popular member of the playing squad.

Adelaide’s Best Team Man award has been presented every year since the Club's inaugural season and recognises the most selfless player who lives and breathes 'team first'.

Premiership captain Mark Bickley is a three-time winner of the award. Douglas, captain Taylor Walker, Eddie Betts and Sam Jacobs are current Crows who have claimed the honour.

The award was renamed in 2015 to honour late Crows coach Phil Walsh and his ‘team-first’ mantra.


1991 – Rodney Maynard
1992 – Mark Bickley
1993 – Mark Bickley
1994 – Mark Ricciuto
1995 – Rodney Jameson
1996 – Matthew Robran
1997 – Kym Koster
1998 – Peter Caven
1999 – Mark Stevens
2000 – Mark Bickley
2001 – Tyson Stenglein
2002 – Mark Stevens
2003 – Mark Ricciuto
2004 – Matthew Clarke
2005 – Nathan Bassett
2006 – Simon Goodwin
2007 – Scott Stevens
2008 – Michael Doughty
2009 – Brad Symes
2010 – Scott Stevens
2011 – Michael Doughty
2012 – Sam Jacobs
2013 – Richard Douglas
2014 – Taylor Walker
2015 – James Podsiadly
2016 – Eddie Betts
2017 – Richard Douglas

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs