Main content

2018 guernsey numbers finalised

Draftee Andrew McPherson will wear the No.36

Adelaide has finalised its AFL playing numbers for Season 2018.

Draftee Andrew McPherson will wear the No.36 most notably worn by three-time Crows Club Champion and former captain Simon Goodwin.

From SANFL club Woodville West-Torrens, McPherson was Adelaide’s second pick (No.40 overall) in the 2017 NAB AFL Draft.

Father-son rookie Jackson Edwards has taken on No.19.

It is the first time the number has been allocated since 2008 when it was retired as part of the launch of the 19th Man marketing campaign.

However, CEO Andrew Fagan said the time was right to re-introduce the number to the playing squad,

Fagan cited the strength, popularity and relevance of the We Fly As One catch cry as a driving force in the decision.

“It has been a consideration for several months and I am sure our fans and Members, along with the broader football community, would agree that We Fly As One is now a better representation of their place in the Crows family and our values,” he said.

“The timing is right and accentuated by the fact it will be worn by an Edwards, a name synonymous with our Club.”

Fellow rookie Lachie Murphy will take over reigning best and fairest winner Matt Crouch’s No.44.

Crouch has moved into locker No.5 following the retirement of Crows great Scott Thompson.

Neighbours 🏠🏠 #weflyasone

A post shared by Adelaide Crows (@adelaide_fc) on


Adelaide’s first pick in the Rookie Draft, Sturt onballer Patrick Wilson, has assumed No.31.

The guernsey became available when second-year Crow Myles Poholke switched to No.10.

Promising midfielder Hugh Greenwood was the other existing player to change numbers.

Greenwood, who wore No.20 this year, will pull on the No.1 next season as a tribute to his late-mum ‘Onnie’ who passed away in October after a long battle with cancer.

First-round draft pick Darcy Fogarty will wear No.32.

The jumper has only been worn in an AFL game by four players in the Club’s history, including Brownlow Medallist and eight-time All Australian Mark Ricciuto and 2015 Crows Club Champion Patrick Dangerfield.

See the history of every number at the Adelaide Football Club

Trade period recruits Bryce Gibbs and Sam Gibson have both taken on different numbers at their new club.

Gibbs, who wore No.4 in 231 games for Carlton, has shuffled down to No.6.

The number is best remembered at Adelaide for belonging to high-flying full forward Tony Modra.

After 130-consecutive games for North Melbourne in No.43, Gibson has swapped to No.20. The jumper was most recently worn by Greenwood. 

Cam Ellis-Yolmen, who was delisted and re-drafted as a rookie, remains in the No.28.

2018 AFL playing numbers

1. Hugh Greenwood (from No.20)
2. Brad Crouch
3. Riley Knight
4. Josh Jenkins
5. Matt Crouch (from No.44)
6. Bryce Gibbs 
7. Jordan Gallucci
8. Jake Kelly
9. Rory Sloane
10. Myles Poholke (from No.31)
11. Paul Seedsman 
12. Daniel Talia
13. Taylor Walker
14. David Mackay 
15. Kyle Hartigan
16. Luke Brown
17. Curtly Hampton
18. Eddie Betts
19. Jackson Edwards
20. Sam Gibson
21. Rory Atkins
22. Andy Otten
24. Sam Jacobs
25. Kyle Cheney
26. Richard Douglas
27. Tom Lynch
28. Cam Ellis-Yolmen
29. Rory Laird
30. Wayne Milera Junior
31. Patrick Wilson
32. Darcy Fogarty

33. Brodie Smith
34. Elliott Himmelberg
35. Matt Signorello 
36. Andrew McPherson
37. Paul Hunter
38. Harry Dear
39. Tom Doedee
40. Ben Davis
41. Mitch McGovern
42. Alex Keath
43. Reilly O’Brien
44. Lachlan Murphy
45. Ben Jarman