Homegrown midfielder Harry Schoenberg has received the Mark Bickley Emerging Talent Award after an outstanding second season in the AFL.

Schoenberg played all 22 games this season to build on a strong start to his career when he played eight games in 2020.

The 20-year-old South Australian joined the Crows with Pick No.24 in the 2019 National Draft and earlier this year re-signed with the Club until 2023.

The Mark Bickley Emerging Talent Award recognises the achievements of a player under the age of 21 as the best ‘all round ‘emerging talent.

Schoenberg joins the likes of Andrew McPherson who received the award last year, and Tom Doedee, Wayne Milera, Rory Sloane and Matt Crouch as previous winners.

This season Schoenberg proved himself as both a ball-winning midfielder and run-with player after he was given a job on some of the competition’s most dangerous onballers.

01:16 Mins
Published on

Mark Bickley Emerging Talent Award: Harry Schoenberg

Harry Schoenberg is this year's Emerging Talent Award recipient.

Published on
Skip Video

He had a career-high 31 disposals in the Round 21 Showdown against Port Adelaide and had 20 or more disposals in seven other games for the season.

Schoenberg was nominated for the AFL’s Rising Star Award in Round 19 following his 24 disposals in Adelaide’s win over Hawthorn at Marvel Stadium. The Crows had two other players in Lachie Sholl and Riley Thilthorpe also receive Rising Star nominations this year.

Mark Bickley Emerging Talent Award winners:

1995 – Andrew McLeod (Emerging Talent)
1996 – Peter Vardy
1997 – Kane Johnson
1998 – Andrew Eccles
1999 – Brett Burton
2000 – Tyson Stenglein
2001 – Chris Ladhams
2002 – Graham Johncock
2003 – Brent Reilly
2004 – Ben Rutten
2005 – Nathan van Berlo (Emerging Talent), Chris Knights (Mark Bickley Award)
2006 – Jason Porplyzia (ET), Nathan van Berlo (MB)
2007 – Jonathon Griffin (ET), Jason Porplyzia (MB)
2008 – Kurt Tippett (ET), David Mackay (MB)
2009 – Andy Otten (ET), Patrick Dangerfield (MB)
2010 – Rory Sloane (ET), Phil Davis (MB)
2011 – Matthew Jaensch (ET), Daniel Talia (MB)
2012 – Brodie Smith (ET), Sam Kerridge (MB)
2013 – Brad Crouch (ET), Luke Brown (MB)
2014 – Charlie Cameron
2015 – Matt Crouch
2016 – Jake Lever
2017 – Wayne Milera Junior
2018 – Tom Doedee
2019 - Chayce Jones
2020 - Andrew McPherson
2021 - Harry Schoenberg