The AFLW Season Seven will begin on the last weekend of August, with the AFL confirming the start date on Thursday.

Season Seven will include 10 home-and-away rounds, before a four-week finals series and a top eight will be introduced.

The Grand Final will be held on the last weekend of November.

The Sign and Trade period for established Clubs will begin on Tuesday, May 31, and end on Wednesday, June 8.

Expansion Clubs will have from Tuesday, May 24, to Friday, May 27, to sign players.

The AFLW Draft will be hosted on Wednesday, June 29, and pre-season can officially kick off on June 13.

Crows CEO Tim Silvers said the Club was supportive of the new collective bargaining agreement which would see women’s players receive greater remuneration.

Silvers added it was pleasing to finally have clarity on key dates, such as the player signing period and season start.

“We expect the upcoming season to be the best yet, especially given all 18 clubs will now be involved and we are particularly looking forward to playing a women’s Showdown for the first time,” Silvers said.

“The team is excited to begin its Premiership defence and we are confident our list will again be strong.

“Our players are genuine trailblazers and have had a profound impact on the women’s sporting landscape, and they deserve credit and recognition for their contribution and achievements.”

Adelaide is currently touring the state with the Season Six AFLW Premiership Cup to create memorable opportunities for local communities in both regional and metropolitan SA.

Key dates for AFLW Season Seven

  • AFLW Expansion Signing Period - May 2
  • Sign and Trade Period - May 31
  • AFLW Draft - June 29
  • Pre-season commences - June 13
  • Season Commences - August 25-27*
  • Finals commence - November 4-7*
  • AFLW Grand Final - weekend of November 25-27 2022*

* Fixtured dates and game times TBC