Adelaide has strengthened its SANFL squad by adding seven new development players for next season.

Young forward Tyler Welsh is joining the Crows from Woodville-West Torrens as part of the SANFL’s Rookie Program.

Welsh, whose father Scott played 129 games for Adelaide from 2000 to 2007, has been part of the Crows Academies NGA program for the past four years.

Next season he will play with Adelaide’s SANFL team outside of his state and national academy commitments, and if not selected, can return to play with the Eagles at reserves or under-18 level.

Welsh is also completing an AFL Sportsready Community and Football Administration Traineeship and has been placed at the Club for the practical component of the course.

Adelaide Head of Football Adam Kelly said the 17-year-old would begin training with the Club when pre-season begins on November 27.

“We obviously know Tyler really well, not only through his dad Scott who had a successful playing career with the Club, but also from his involvement with our father-son academy in recent years,” Kelly said.

“The opportunity for him to work with our coaches and high performance staff will help his development and we are excited about integrating him with our SANFL team next year.”

Emerging 200cm ruckman/forward Toby Murray – the younger brother of Adelaide’s AFL defender Nick – is also joining the Crows from Wangaratta.

The 20-year-old is a strong overhead mark and mobile around the ground who has played for Collingwood at VFL level and the Allies at the Under-18 National Championships.

Other signings include three-time Mail Medallist and two-time premiership midfielder/forward Steve Burton from Gawler South, Division One Amateur League leading goal kicker and premiership player Jayden Davis from Prince Alfred Old Collegians, Broadview utility Sam Daniele, Langhorne Creek premiership midfielder Darcy Clifford and former Central District on-baller and State Under-18 representative Austin McDonald.

“We’re very pleased with the additions to our SANFL squad for next season,” Kelly said.

“All of these players bring different attributes but a shared commitment to wanting to get the best out of themselves and the team.”

Those not returning in 2024 include retiring captain Matthew Wright, Isaya McKenzie and Louis Sharrad who have both retired from SANFL footy, and 2023 Dean Bailey Award winner Blayne O’Loughlin, who returns to North Adelaide under the SANFL Rookie Program agreement.

“We’d like to thank Matt, Isaya, Louis and Blayne for their contribution,” Kelly said.

“Their efforts and leadership ensured we remained competitive at state league level which is evidenced by consecutive preliminary final appearances.”