In his first year as captain, Rory Sloane has been honoured by his peers with the 2019 Players’ Trademark Award.

The courageous midfielder is no stranger to the award, which recognises the player who best represents the team’s values, having won in 2012, 2015 and 2016.

One of just two awards voted by the players, Sloane was chosen for best embodying the team’s on-field principles.

Playing all 22 games this year, he demonstrated his ferocious competitiveness and ruthless attitude that make him a warrior week-in, week-out.

He brought his elite professional habits and game day strategies to every match, as well as his unwavering care and respect for his teammates.

Sloane is now the only Crow to have won the award four times, overtaking Mark Bickley and Robert Shirley who each claimed the accolade on three occasions.

He led the Crows for contested possessions (288), hard ball gets (95), clearances (131) and tackles (129), ranking Top 15 in the League for all four categories across the home and away season.

The 29-year-old led from the front in the side’s Showdown 46 win over cross-town rivals Port Adelaide, producing a spirited performance to inspire his side to victory. 

Current Crows Tom Doedee, Brad Crouch and Eddie Betts are also past recipients of the award.

Chelsea Phillis Coaches Award/Players’ Trademark Award winners

1995 – Andrew Jarman

1996 – Mark Bickley

1997 – Mark Bickley

1998 – Simon Goodwin

1999 – Ben Hart

2000 – Mark Ricciuto

2001 – Mark Bickley

2002 – Tyson Stenglein

2003 – Robert Shirley

2004 – Mark Ricciuto

2005 – Robert Shirley

2006 – Matthew Bode

2007 – Robert Shirley

2008 – Richard Douglas

2009 – Jason Porplyzia

2010 – Richard Douglas

2011 – Scott Thompson

2012 – Rory Sloane

2013 – Andy Otten

2014 – Eddie Betts

2015 – Rory Sloane

2016 – Rory Sloane

2017 – Brad Crouch (Players’ Trademark)

2018 – Tom Doedee (Players’ Trademark)

2019 – Rory Sloane (Players’ Trademark)