Crow Patrick Dangerfield has finished fourth in the 2013 Brownlow Medal.

Dangerfield polled 22 votes to finish six behind winner Gold Coast champion Gary Ablett (28).

Geelong captain Joel Selwood (27) and 2011 Brownlow Medallist Dane Swan (26) finished second and third, respectively, in a thrilling count which saw Ablett receive three votes in the final round to overtake Selwood and Swan and claim his second ‘Charlie’.

Dangerfield was equal-second on the overall leaderboard (18 votes) until he injured his shoulder in Adelaide’s Round 16 loss to Collingwood. The 23-year-old missed the next two matches through injury and only polled four votes in the last five rounds of the season.  

Dangerfield, who didn’t poll a vote in the opening three games, enjoyed a purple patch of form between Rounds 4-12. The two-time All Australian was recognised with five best-on-ground performances, including Adelaide’s losses to Hawthorn and Richmond.

A proven vote-getter, Dangerfield has now polled 45 votes in the past two seasons – having collected 23 votes to finish seventh overall in 2012.

Club Champion Rory Sloane was the next-best performed Crow. Sloane collected 15 votes to finish level with Hawthorn skipper Luke Hodge in 14th place. The courageous onballer earned best-afield honours against St Kilda in Round Eight and North Melbourne in Round 20 – and polled in a total of eight games. Ineligible to win the award, Scott Thompson (nine) finished third in Adelaide’s voting ahead of young teammate Brad Crouch, who received six votes in his debut AFL season.

Adelaide’s vote-getters
22 – Patrick Dangerfield
15 – Rory Sloane
9 – Scott Thompson (ineligible)
6 – Brad Crouch
3 – Richard Douglas, Ricky Henderson, Tom Lynch
2 -- Lewis Johnston, Sam Kerridge

Crows Round-by-Round Voting
Round One, Adelaide v Essendon

3. Ben Howlett (Ess)
2. Jobe Watson (Ess)
1. Heath Hocking (Ess)

Round Two, Brisbane Lions v Adelaide
3. Scott Thompson (Adel)
2. Pearce Hanley (Bris)
1. Rory Sloane (Adel)

Round Three, Port Adelaide v Adelaide
3. Justin Westhoff (PA)
2. Travis Boak (PA)
1. Kane Cornes (PA)

Round Four, Adelaide v Western Bulldogs
3. Patrick Dangerfield (Adel)
2. Rory Sloane (Adel)
1. Richard Douglas (Adel)

Round Five, Carlton v Adelaide
3. Andrew Walker (Carl)
2. Brock McLean (Carl)
1. Kade Simpson (Carl)

Round Six, Adelaide v Hawthorn
3. Patrick Dangerfield (Adel)
2. Luke Hodge (Haw)
1. Sam Mitchell (Haw)

Round Seven, GWS v Adelaide
3. Patrick Dangerfield (Adel)
2. Tom Lynch (Adel)
1. Scott Thompson (Adel)

Round Eight, Adelaide v St Kilda
3. Rory Sloane (Adel)
2. Scott Thompson (Adel)

1. Leigh Montagna (StK)

Round Nine, North Melbourne v Adelaide
3. Patrick Dangerfield (Adel)
2. Sam Kerridge (Adel)

1. Jack Ziebell (NM)

Round 10, Adelaide v Fremantle
3. Michael Barlow (Frem)
2. Rory Sloane (Adel)
1. Patrick Dangerfield (Adel)

Round 11, Adelaide v Sydney Swans
3. Daniel Hannebery (Syd)
2. Kieran Jack (Syd)
1. Ryan O’Keefe (Syd)

Round 12, Richmond v Adelaide
3. Patrick Dangerfield (Adel)
2. Dustin Martin (Rich)
1. Bachar Houli (Rich)

Round 13, Bye

Round 14, Gold Coast v Adelaide
3. Dion Prestia (GC)
2. Patrick Dangerfield (Adel)
1. Brad Crouch (Adel)

Round 15, Adelaide v West Coast
3. Matt Priddis (WC)
2. Chris Masten (WC)
1. Rory Sloane (Adel)

Round 16, Collingwood v Adelaide
3. Scott Pendlebury (Coll)
2. Dane Swan (Coll)
1. Tom Lynch (Adel)

Round 17, Adelaide v Geelong
3. Ricky Henderson (Adel)
2. Joel Selwood (Geel)
1. Richard Douglas (Adel)

Round 18, Fremantle v Adelaide
3. Nathan Fyfe (Frem)
2. Rory Sloane (Adel)
1. Michael Johnson (Frem)

Round 19, Adelaide v Port Adelaide
3. Chad Wingard (PA)
2. Brad Crouch (Adel)
1. Patrick Dangerfield (Adel)

Round 20, Adelaide v North Melbourne
3. Rory Sloane (Adel)
2. Daniel Wells (NM)
1. Richard Douglas (Adel)

Round 21, Western Bulldogs v Adelaide
3. Tom Liberatore (WB)
2. Adam Cooney (WB)
1. Tory Dickson (WB)

Round 22, Adelaide v Melbourne
3. Scott Thompson (Adel)
2. Lewis Johnston (Adel)
1. Brad Crouch (Adel)

Round 23, West Coast v Adelaide
3. Patrick Dangerfield (Adel)
2. Brad Crouch (Adel)
1. Rory Sloane (Adel)