Crows captain Rory Sloane will take a trip down memory lane as he pulls on the No.31 for Victorian in Friday night’s State of Origin for Bushfire Relief game.

Sloane played 15 games in the guernsey over two seasons before inheriting Tyson Edwards’ No.9 for the 2011 season.

Richmond captain Trent Cotchin will wear that number after the AFL ruled the numbers would be decided by who has played the most games in that particular jumper.

Cotchin has played 234 AFL games in the No.9 since his Tigers debut in 2008, ahead of Sloane (184 games in No.9).

FULL DETAILS: State of Origin squads revealed

Dustin Martin won out for No.4 for Victoria, ahead of Marcus Bontempelli, Toby Greene, Shaun Higgins and Jade Gresham.

Josh Kelly, Todd Goldstein and Steele Sidebottom were also forced to vie for the Victorian No.22 jumper, while Patrick Cripps and Lachie Neale fought for the All Stars' No.9 guernsey.

They were among a number of high-profile battles for particular lockers.

Sloane will be the only Crow in a new number as All Stars representatives Taylor Walker, Rory Laird and Brodie Smith have retained their Club numbers.

The sides will face off at Marvel Stadium from 7.50pm AEDT on Friday night, February 28.

Check out the official State of Origin numbers below:


1. Jade Gresham
2. Shaun Higgins
3. Andrew Gaff
4. Dustin Martin
5. Toby Greene
6. Lachie Whitfield
7. Marcus Bontempelli
8. Robbie Gray
9. Trent Cotchin
10. Scott Pendlebury
11. Jack Macrae
12. Tom Papley
13. Stefan Martin
14. Bachar Houli
18. Jeremy Cameron
19. Tom Lynch
20. Nick Haynes
21. James Sicily
22. Todd Goldstein
23. Josh Kelly
24. Steele Sidebottom
30. Darcy Moore
31. Rory Sloane
35. Patrick Dangerfield
42. Adam Saad
44. Jake Lloyd
46. Mark Blicavs


1. Michael Walters
2. Zach Tuohy
3. Stephan Coniglio
4. Brodie Grundy
5. Brad Sheppard
6. Elliot Yeo
7. Nat Fyfe
8. Jack Riewoldt
9. Patrick Cripps
10. Shane Edwards
12. Callum Mills
13. Taylor Walker
14. Lachie Weller
15. Dayne Zorko
16. Isaac Smith
17. Lachie Neale
18. Scott Lycett
22. Luke Breust
23. Charlie Cameron
26. Tom Hawkins
29. Rory Laird
31. Harris Andrews
32. Bradley Hill
33. Brodie Smith
38. Jeremy Howe
39. Neville Jetta
40. Jason Johannisen