Adelaide defender Andrew McPherson has won the Mark Bickley Emerging Talent Award for 2020.

An amalgamation of two awards from the Club's history, the Emerging Talent award recognises the achievements of a player under the age of 21 as the best ‘all round’ emerging talent.

McPherson overcame a string of injury troubles to make his AFL debut in Round Six, perfectly portraying his resilience and professionalism throughout rehabilitation.

In nine games, McPherson looked a composed part of the back six allowing teammate Rory Laird to forge a successful move into the midfield.


The South Australian joined the club at the end of 2017 via Pick No.40 in the National Draft.

McPherson joins an impressive list of former winners, including captain Rory Sloane, Daniel Talia, the Crouch brothers and Brodie Smith.

Mark Bickley Emerging Talent Award winners:

1995 – Andrew McLeod (Emerging Talent)

1996 – Peter Vardy

1997 – Kane Johnson

1998 – Andrew Eccles

1999 – Brett Burton

2000 – Tyson Stenglein

2001 – Chris Ladhams

2002 – Graham Johncock

2003 – Brent Reilly

2004 – Ben Rutten

2005 – Nathan van Berlo (Emerging Talent), Chris Knights (Mark Bickley Award)

2006 – Jason Porplyzia (ET), Nathan van Berlo (MB)

2007 – Jonathon Griffin (ET), Jason Porplyzia (MB)

2008 – Kurt Tippett (ET), David Mackay (MB)

2009 – Andy Otten (ET), Patrick Dangerfield (MB)

2010 – Rory Sloane (ET), Phil Davis (MB)

2011 – Matthew Jaensch (ET), Daniel Talia (MB)

2012 – Brodie Smith (ET), Sam Kerridge (MB)

2013 – Brad Crouch (ET), Luke Brown (MB)

2014 – Charlie Cameron

2015 – Matt Crouch

2016 – Jake Lever

2017 – Wayne Milera Junior

2018 – Tom Doedee

2019 - Chayce Jones

2020 - Andrew McPherson