Young Crow Andrew McPherson has won the Dr Brian Sando OAM Trophy for his outstanding professionalism and attention to detail in his preparation to play elite-level football.

The award was introduced in 2012 to honour the memory of long-serving Crows doctor and life member Brian Sando OAM, who passed away due to illness.

McPherson played just 12 matches in his opening two years at the Club as he was consistently dogged by groin and hamstring injuries.


In total, McPherson waited 960 days between the 2017 draft before finally making his AFL debut in Round Six against West Coast. 

In nine senior appearances this season, the 21-year-old averaged 12.7 disposals and 2.8 marks per game. 

McPherson was also awarded the Mark Bickley Emerging Talent Award for 2020.

Dr Brian Sando Award OAM Trophy winners:

2012 – Daniel Talia

2013 – Daniel Talia

2014 – Nathan van Berlo

2015 – Jake Lever

2016 – David Mackay

2017 – Rory Sloane 

2018 – Tom Doedee

2019 - Reilly O’Brien

2020 - Andrew McPherson