The Adelaide Football Club is pleased to confirm former South Australian Premier John Olsen AO will take over as Chairman later this month. 

He will be the fifth Chairman since the Club was founded in 1990 and he succeeds Rob Chapman who is retiring after 14 years on the Board, including 12 as Chair. 

Olsen, who led the State from 1996 to 2001, has a deep understanding of the football landscape after serving as Chairman of both the South Australian Football Commission and Adelaide Oval Stadium Management Authority. 

Previously a diplomat as the Australian Consul-General in New York and Los Angeles, he was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2007. 

Chapman will officially step down after the October Board meeting, having overseen some defining moments in Crows history. 

These include taking control of the Club’s licence from the SANFL, moving home games to Adelaide Oval, establishing a premiership-winning women’s team, and building a strong financial platform.

“I have thoroughly enjoyed my time at the Adelaide Football Club and my life is richer for having met and worked with the many wonderful people past and present,” Chapman said.

“Footy clubs are about people and the Crows family is blessed to have so many caring, passionate, loyal and committed people who invest time, energy and money into making the Club the best it can be.

“It has been a privilege to lead the Board and I leave knowing there is a clear and considered plan, and we are well placed to emerge from the current pandemic and enjoy sustained success both on and off the field in the future.”

Olsen described his appointment as a privilege.

“I would like to pay tribute to Rob for his tireless commitment over the past 12 years,” Olsen said. 

“He has been a strong voice for the Adelaide Football Club on the local and national stage, and the Club owes him an enormous debt of gratitude.

“I feel honoured to have been asked to be the Chair and to represent the best interests of the players, coaches, staff supporters and most importantly, the Members and the Club they love.

“My message to Members is this: we are a proud Club that expects success both on and off the field, and I am committed to making us stronger and look forward to the challenge.” 

Adelaide’s Board of Directors will be John Olsen (Chairman), Jim Hazel (Deputy Chairman), Mark Ricciuto, Rod Jameson, Linda Fellows, Richard Fennell, Kate Ellis, Kym Ryder and Warren Randall.