The West Coast Eagles have claimed victory on Crows turf after a final term fade-out from Adelaide on Sunday evening. 

The Crows scored the only goal of a scrappy, dour first quarter through Taylor Walker, before the visitors pulled away after the main break to hold on for a 14.14 (98) to 8.8 (56) finish.

It was a five-goal-to-two third term that helped set up the Eagles' ninth win, with Jamie Cripps and Jack Petruccelle able to put the finishing touches on the dominant work of Nic Naitanui, Andrew Gaff and Tim Kelly in the middle of the ground that the Crows were unable to match.

The Crows tried hard and were led well by Rory Laird (34 disposals), Ben Keays (30) and Paul Seedsman (27), but the weight of numbers eventually told as the more experienced Eagles flexed their muscle to prevail.

Defence dominated attack early on in the contest, with Taylor Walker's presence up forward the difference as the veteran slotted the only goal of the opening term as the Crows shot out to a six-point advantage at quarter-time.

Darcy Fogarty kicked truly on two occasions - including a beauty from outside 50 on an acute angle - as the Crows closed to within two points at the main break.

But Cripps kicked two goals in succession early in the third and Ryan sprung to life shortly after as the Eagles upped the ante to lead by 23 points heading into the final quarter.

It was all one-way traffic during the fourth quarter as Cripps snapped through a ripper from the boundary for his fifth and Oscar Allen hit the scoreboard with his first to put the final stamp on a dominant second half.

The win lifts the Eagles up to seventh on the ladder, a game clear of Essendon, Richmond, Fremantle and St Kilda. 

ADELAIDE    1.3      4.4      6.6     8.8 (56)  
WEST COAST  0.3       4.6       9.9       14.14 (98)  

Adelaide: Fogarty 2, Keays 2, Lynch, Walker, Himmelberg, Schoenberg
West Coast: Cripps 5, Ryan 3, Petruccelle 2, Darling, Yeo, Allen, Williams

Adelaide: Keays, Laird, Seedsman, Lynch, Kelly, Schoenberg
West Coast: Cripps, Yeo, Naitanui, Gaff, Hurn, Kelly

Adelaide: Sholl (replaced Murray)  
West Coast: Nelson (replaced Shuey)