TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Latest Videos

Welcome Tyson Stengle

12:20pm  Oct 16, 2018

2019 Rule Changes Revealed

2:28pm  Oct 11, 2018

McAdam's 2015 GOTY Contender

9:27am  Oct 11, 2018

Justin Reid Presser October 10

1:21pm  Oct 10, 2018

AFLW: Randall to captain Allies

Natasha Wade  August 26, 2017 7:28 PM

Randall named AFLW Allies Captain Crows Premiership Captain Chelsea Randall speaks about being named Captain of the Allies in the upcoming AFLW State of Origin.
ADELAIDE, AUSTRALIA - FEBRUARY 19: Chelsea Randall of the Crows during the 2017 AFLW Round 03 match between the Adelaide Crows and the Carlton Blues at Thebarton Oval on February 19, 2017 in Adelaide, Australia. (Photo by AFL Media)

ADELAIDE, AUSTRALIA - FEBRUARY 19: Chelsea Randall of the Crows during the 2017 AFLW Round 03 match between the Adelaide Crows and the Carlton Blues at Thebarton Oval on February 19, 2017 in Adelaide, Australia. (Photo by AFL Media)

Crows AFLW co-captain Chelsea Randall has added to her accolades by being named as captain of the Allies for the AFL Women’s State of Origin clash with Victoria.

Brisbane captain Emma Zielke has been named vice captain for the exhibition match, which will take place on Saturday, September 2 at Etihad Stadium.

Five of the Crows’ premiership players will line-up for the Allies, with Randall to be joined by Ebony Marinoff, Courtney Cramey, Jessica Sedunary and Northern Territory-based Stevie-Lee Thompson.

Forward Sarah Perkins will line up against her Crows teammates, selected to represent Victoria.

Randall said it was an honour to be named skipper of the Allies team.

“I’m so excited for this game. It’s going to be the best of the best in Australia,” Randall said.

“It’s an exciting time for these female athletes to show exactly what they’re made of in a showcase game.

“There’s also a bit of banter across the Victorian and the Allies teams, so it’ll be a fun match as well.”

Crows premiership coach Bec Goddard will lead the Allies, but AFLW Best and Fairest winner Erin Phillips won’t play in the match because of commitments with WNBA team Dallas Wings in the United States.

Melbourne skipper Daisy Pearce will captain Victoria in the match.

The State of Origin match will be broadcast live nationally on the Seven Network and Foxtel.

Entry to the match, which commences at 7.40pm (EST) will be free of charge.

The State of Origin squads were initially based on the 2017 AFL Women’s All Australian squad. Selection is based on where a player is born, not which state they are currently playing in.

Chelsea Randall                      Adelaide
Ebony Marinoff                      Adelaide
Courtney Cramey                   Adelaide
Stevie-Lee Thompson            Adelaide
Jessica Sedunary                  Adelaide
Sabrina Frederick-Traub        Brisbane
Emily Bates                            Brisbane
Emma Zielke                          Brisbane
Jess Wuetschner                     Brisbane
Kate McCarthy                       Brisbane
Leah Kaslar                            Brisbane
Sam Virgo                              Brisbane
Tayla Harris                            Carlton
Emma King                            Collingwood
Ebony Antonio                       Fremantle
Kirby Bentley                         Fremantle
Dana Hooker                           Fremantle
Erin McKinnon                       GWS
Emma Swanson                      GWS
Renee Tomkins                       GWS
Elise O'Dea                             Melbourne
Bianca Jakobsson                   Melbourne
Katie Brennan                         Western Bulldogs

Sarah Perkins              Adelaide        
Kaitlyn Ashmore        Brisbane
Lauren Arnell             Carlton           
Brianna Davey            Carlton           
Alison Donnie            Carlton           
Sarah Hosking            Carlton
Nicola Stevens            Carlton
Steph Chiocci             Collingwood
Jasmine Garner           Collingwood
Jamiee Lambert          Collingwood
Sarah D’Arcy                Collingwood
Moana Hope              Collingwood
Kara Donnellan          Fremantle
Jess Dal Pos                GWS  
Alicia Eva                   GWS  
Karen Paxman            Melbourne     
Daisy Pearce               Melbourne
Melissa Hickey           Melbourne     
Lily Mithen                 Melbourne     
Ellie Blackburn           Western Bulldogs
Emma Kearney           Western Bulldogs
Lauren Spark              Western Bulldogs