Adelaide small forward Ned McHenry has won the Dr Brian Sando OAM Trophy for his outstanding professionalism and dedication in his preparation to play at the highest level.

The award was introduced in 2012 to honour the memory of long-serving Crows doctor and life member Brian Sando OAM, who passed away due to illness.

McHenry made a strong start to his Club career in the SANFL in 2019, before injuries sidelined him for 11 weeks.

He earned his AFL debut in Round Two last year and took his game to another level in 2021, playing all but one match and averaging 12.3 disposals and 3.1 tackles, while finishing the campaign with 11 goals.

The 21-year-old worked hard this year to get his body right and build up the strength needed to match it with the best in the competition.

Andrew McPherson was the Brian Sando Award winner last season.

00:59 Mins
Published on

Dr Brian Sando OAM Trophy: Ned McHenry

Ned McHenry has been awarded with the Dr Brian Sando OAM Trophy for his hard work on and off the field.

Published on
Skip Video

Dr Brian Sando Award OAM Trophy winners:

2012 – Daniel Talia
2013 – Daniel Talia
2014 – Nathan van Berlo
2015 – Jake Lever
2016 – David Mackay
2017 – Rory Sloane 
2018 – Tom Doedee
2019 - Reilly O’Brien
2020 - Andrew McPherson
2021 - Ned McHenry