Adelaide ruckman Kieran Strachan has taken out the State League Club Champion Award following a consistent SANFL season.

Strachan finished on 90 votes, ahead of James Borlase (77 votes) and Ronin O’Connor (73 votes).

Billy Frampton and Josh Worrell rounded out the top five.

The big man dominated in the ruck, averaging 36.4 hit-outs and 16.1 disposals across 15 SANFL matches this season.

He also booted three goals and averaged 3.9 clearances.

The 25-year-old was a standout in the Round Three match against Woodville-West Torrens, in which he finished with 52 hit-outs, four clearances and three inside-50s.

02:43 Mins
Published on

State League Club Champion: Winner Speech

An outstanding year in the SANFL has seen Kieran Strachan take home his first State League Club Champion medal

Published on
Skip Video

He also impressed with his tap work in Adelaide’s Round 12 win against West Adelaide.

Battling rain, Strachan smashed the hit-outs 41-15 and also snuck forward to kick a goal.

His strong SANFL form helped push for an opportunity to be elevated into the AFL side for the Round 22 and Round 23 games against Melbourne and North Melbourne, respectively.

Strachan finished second on the SANFL’s hit-outs list with a total of 564 from his 15 matches.

The ruckman, who hails from South Bendigo, played in the VFL with Essendon and Port Melbourne before the Crows selected him with pick No.7 at the 2018 Rookie Draft.

He then went on to earn an AFL debut in Round Nine, 2020.

The State League Club Champion voting process follows the same protocol as the senior side, with the coaching panel, led by Michael Godden, rating every player from 0 – 4 after each match.

Strachan has become Adelaide’s sixth SANFL Club Champion and follows Patrick Wilson (2019, 2018), Scott Thompson, Jonathon Beech and two-time winner Ian Callinan.

The award was not given out in 2020 as the Crows did not take part in the 2020 SANFL season due to Covid-19.

01:06 Mins
Published on

State League Club Champion: Kieran Strachan

Kieran Strachan has been awarded for his hard work and dedication winning this year's State League Club Champion.

Published on
Skip Video

State League Club Champion Leaderboard - Top 10

Strachan - 90 votes
Borlase - 77 votes
O’Connor - 73 votes
Worrell - 69 votes
Frampton - 66 votes
Boyle - 65 votes
Wright - 65 votes
McAsey - 61 votes
Hately - 60 votes
Latchford - 60 votes