It’s well-known that new recruit Luke Nankervis grew a Jedi ‘Padawan braid’, fuelled by his love of Star Wars, during Victoria’s Covid-19 lockdown.

But there are plenty of things that people wouldn’t be aware of - including his dislike of unhealthy food and who his favourite athlete is.

To help you get to know him better, the young half-forward has answered 15 questions from food and holidays to what he enjoys doing on his day off.

1. What’s your favourite cheat meal?

That’s a tough one, but I like to have some Weet-Bix with honey at night. My diet is pretty clean, so I’ll be honest I don’t have many cheat meals.

2. Where’s your favourite place to holiday?

Lake Eppalock in Bendigo. It’s where we go with our family and family friends so I have a lot of good memories of water skiing there as kids.

3. Where would you like to travel – somewhere you haven’t been before – when the    world opens up?

Probably Canada or somewhere I could go snow skiing.

4. What’s your favourite sport apart from footy?

I’d have to say water skiing.

5. Do you have a favourite athlete?

Cooper Courtney - someone I looked up to growing up at my local (footy) club, the Bentleigh Demons, which plays in the Southern Football League.

 6. What’s the best sporting event you’ve been to?

Probably Round One, Richmond v Carlton, at the start of this year. It was just good to get back to watching a game live. 

7. How many siblings do you have, if any? 

I have two older brothers and a younger sister - Ryan who’s 22, Joel who’s 20 and my sister Milly is 15.

8. What’s one thing you can’t live without?

(AFL) Football.

9. Do you have a nickname? If so, what is it?

Nanks, Skywalker, Jedi or Obi-Wan - I’ve got a few.

10. Do you prefer winter or summer and why?

Summer just because it’s beach weather, you can get your tan on and I just enjoy exercising in the sun.

11. Would you prefer to live near the beach or the country and why?

Definitely by the beach, I enjoy the beach a lot.

12. What’s your favourite social media platform and why?

Probably Facebook because there’s quite a few things on it and I use Facebook Marketplace a bit. 

13. What do you like to do on your day off?

I don’t mind golfing or going for a swim at the beach.

14. Chocolate or lollies and why?

If I had to choose, I’d have to take chocolate. I used to like chocolate.

15. If you won $10 million, what would be the first thing you buy?

I’d probably invest most of it, probably buy a bit of stocks.