Three-time Adelaide AFLW Premiership star Anne Hatchard is now also a two-time Club Champion.

The prolific midfielder capped an incredible season by claiming the Crows’ highest individual honour at the Club’s AFLW awards at SkyCity Adelaide on Thursday night.

Hatchard polled 351 votes to take out the award from fellow midfielder and 2021 winner Ebony Marinoff (342 votes) who finished second.

It is the second time the 24-year-old has claimed the Club Champion award after taking out the honour in 2020.

This year’s best and fairest award comes after Hatchard was best-on-ground in the Crows’ 13-point Grand Final victory against Melbourne at Adelaide Oval last Saturday.

In what was her third flag win, Hatchard amassed a game-high 26 possessions and laid six tackles.

Hatchard played in all 10 minor round games in Season Six, as well as in the Crows’ preliminary final win against Fremantle.

She finished the season with an average of 24.5 disposals, 6.9 marks, 3.8 tackles and 10.9 contested possessions.

The Club Champion award win is another accolade for Hatchard to add to her resume.

She became an All Australian for the third time after being selected in the 2022 team and finished as the runner up in this year’s League-wide best and fairest.

Hatchard and Marinoff were neck-and-neck during the vote count for the second year in a row, before Hatchard’s Grand Final performance gave her the edge.

Marinoff, who claimed the award in 2021, has finished in the top three of the Club Champion count every year since the Crows’ team entered the AFLW competition in 2017.

Adelaide’s AFLW Club Champion award is calculated by the senior coach and four line coaches who grade every player’s performance on a 0-8 scale following each round for a maximum collective vote of 40.

Other awards presented on Thursday night went to the ever-reliable Sarah Allan who took out the Best Defensive Player for a second consecutive season.

Allan earnt All Australian honours in 2022 for the third time in her career after a consistent season in a key defensive post.

Versatile forward Ashleigh Woodland claimed the Crows’ Leading Goal Kicker Award.

The 23-year-old made a blazing start to 2022 with back-to-back four-goal hauls as she staked her claim as the dominant forward in the competition. 

She kicked multiple goals in eight games this season to finish with a league-high 21 for the year.

Hatchard and Allan were again recognised for their outstanding seasons, tying for the Players’ Player Award, as voted on by their peers.

2022 Major Award Winners

Club Champion – Anne Hatchard

Runner-up – Ebony Marinoff

Third place – Sarah Allan

Leading Goalkicker Award – Ashleigh Woodland

Players’ Player – Anne Hatchard and Sarah Allan

Best Defensive Player – Sarah Allan


1             Anne Hatchard              351    

2             Ebony Marinoff             342

3             Sarah Allan                     314

4             Erin Phillips                  277

5             Chelsea Biddell                 260

6            Eloise Jones                    256

7            Rachelle Martin                  242

8            Ashleigh Woodland       238

9             Marijana Rajcic                   213

10           Teah Charlton                     208