Main content

Crows name SANFL co-captains

Hugh Greenwood in action during Adelaide's SANFL clash with Norwood at Coopers Stadium   (Photo: Adelaide Crows FC)
Hugh Greenwood has been named co-captain of Adelaide's SANFL team alongside Alex Keath
They’re both mature-age players, strong characters and respected members of the playing squad.
Crows SANFL coach Ryan O'Keefe

Hugh Greenwood and Alex Keath have been named co-captains of Adelaide’s SANFL team.

The Category B rookies will share the captaincy after assuming the role from former Crows development player Luke Carey.

Greenwood, who turns 25 next Monday, joined the Club in September, 2015 after calling time on a promising basketball career.

The Tasmanian slotted seamlessly into Adelaide’s SANFL side last year, playing every game, kicking 25 goals and finishing sixth in the State League Club Champion count.

Ex-cricketer Keath also switched sports to sign with the Crows and was a valuable addition to Adelaide’s state league side.

The key-position prospect starred in his League debut against Glenelg in Round Five and quickly became an important part of Adelaide’s SANFL backline, playing 13 matches for the year.

Crows SANFL coach Ryan O’Keefe said it was great recognition for the duo.

“Hugh and Alex have shown great leadership potential and are deserving co-captains of our SANFL side,” O’Keefe said.

“They’re both mature-age players, strong characters and respected members of the playing squad.

“It’s also a fantastic opportunity for them to continue developing their game.”

Both players remain available for promotion to the primary list and AFL senior selection, despite acquiring the SANFL captaincy.

“This doesn’t exclude them from their AFL aspirations,” O’Keefe said.

“We believe it will help fast-track their development as they continue to strive towards an AFL debut.”

Adelaide opens its 2017 SANFL campaign against Sturt at Peter Motley Oval on Sunday, April 9.

Crows SANFL co-captains Alex Keath and Hugh Greenwood

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs