Main content

SANFL: Seven into squad

Kyle Cheney   - Photo by AFC Media
Kyle Cheney

Defender Kyle Cheney will play his first game in four weeks in Sunday’s SANFL clash with Norwood at Coopers Stadium.

Draftee Ben Davis is also poised to make his Club debut and is among seven inclusions for the match against the Redlegs.

Cheney, 27, has been cleared to return from a hamstring injury which has kept him sidelined since Adelaide’s win over Central District last month.

Injuries have restricted the former Hawk and Demon to just five SANFL appearances this year.

Davis will wear Crows colours for the first time after overcoming a stress-related foot injury which forced him onto the Club’s long-term injury list.

Key-position player Harry Dear (quad) and onballer Matthew Signorello (concussion) also return to the squad. The pair was withdrawn from last week’s loss to West Adelaide.

Jordan Gallucci and Jonathon Beech further strengthen the side. The duo resume after serving as travelling emergencies for Adelaide’s AFL victory in Darwin last round.

Beech, Gallucci and wingman Paul Seedsman are the Club’s senior emergencies for Friday night’s AFL clash with Geelong at Adelaide Oval.

Former Sturt junior Ryan Marini from Pembroke OS has been included on an extended interchange and could make his SANFL debut.

Promising forward Elliott Himmelberg wasn’t available for selection due to a foot complaint. The 19-year-old will undergo further assessment.

SANFL co-captain Alex Keath will make his AFL debut against the Cats on Friday night.

Development players Joey Brown and Damon Hill have been omitted following last week’s loss to the Bloods.

The SANFL Crows hold a strong recent record against Norwood but need to bounce back from three consecutive losses. Full match preview

Sunday’s clash at Coopers Stadium at The Parade begins at 2.10pm. Crows ticketed members receive free entry to all of the Club’s minor round SANFL matches upon presentation of their 2017 membership card.

Fans can tune in to a free live audio stream of the clash via the SANFL’s official website or smartphone app. Coverage begins at 2pm.


Adelaide’s SANFL squad is:

F: Troy Menzel (32), Tom Pinyon (65), Myles Poholke (31)

HF: Ben Jarman (45), Harry Dear (38), Daniel Fry (49)

C: Josh Wittwer (51), Scott Thompson (5), Jonathon Beech (1)

HB: Lachlan Murphy (48), Tom Doedee (39), Paul Seedsman (11)

B: Kyle Cheney (25), Louis De Michele (66), Dean Gore (36)

FOL: Paul Hunter (37), Harrison Wigg (10), Jordan Gallucci (7)

INT (FROM): Ben Davis (40), Matthew Signorello (35), Ryan Marini (70), Blake Launer (52), John Boxer (47)

IN: Cheney, Davis, Beech, Dear, Signorello, Gallucci, Marini
Himmelberg (foot), Keath (AFL), Hill, Brown

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs